Burned and Broken
24%
off

Burned and Broken

3.57 (97 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A twisty, gripping novel that introduces a brilliant new detective duo, and a woman trying to discover the truth behind the death of her best friend - perfect for fans of LJ Ross's Cragside and Patricia Gibney's The Missing Ones. A DEAD GIRL A vulnerable young woman, fresh out of the care system, is trying to discover the truth behind the sudden death of her best friend. A MURDERED POLICE OFFICER The charred body of a policeman - currently the subject of an internal investigation - is found in the burnt-out-shell of his car on the Southend seafront. A CRIME WORTH KILLING FOR? To DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell of the Essex Police Major Investigation Team, the two events seem unconnected. But as they dig deeper into their colleague's murder, dark secrets begin to emerge. Can Pearson and Russell solve both cases, before more lives are destroyed? If you like If you like LJ Ross, Patricia Gibney, Rachel Caine, Greg Keen, Rachel Abbott, Joy Ellis and Peter James, then you will love this stylish and gripping crime debut.**** Praise for Burned and Broken: 'Immensely impressive' The Times 'The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut' Sunday Times 'Emotional, intelligent, sensual and with such a strong voice, Burned and Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success' Harry Illingworth (Goldsboro Books) 'I absolutely LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book and I would recommend it to anybody. I can't wait to read more investigations led by DS Frank Pearson and DC Cat Russell' Amanda Oughton (Ginger Book Geek) 'The story is easy to follow without being too simple, and the novel really manages to evoke a sense of atmosphere and reality within its pages. I didn't find myself becoming distracted whilst reading at all, and raced through it in hours. I will certainly be reading any future novels, particularly in this series which I wholeheartedly enjoyed' Laura Naz (Snazzy Books)show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 135 x 198 x 25mm | 262g
  • Little, Brown Book Group
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751562084
  • 9780751562088
  • 79,356

Review quote

A feast of intrigue. CHOICE Magazine Immensely impressive. The Times Auspicious debut ... finely drawn, overlapping story. Daily Mail The investigation into a copper's dramatic death in downbeat Southend scoops a cast of equally downbeat characters into its net, and tensions rise as their stories fold around each other. An accomplished debut. Sunday Times Emotional, intelligent, sensual & with such a strong voice, Burned & Broken by Mark Hardie is a crime debut that deserves huge success. Harry Illingworth (@Harryillers), Goldsboro Books A very strong debut by someone whom I believe is going to become a household name. You heard it here first! A great story-line, with very real characters ... Mark has created a new police partnership, with his main characters DS Frank Pearson and DC Catherine Russell: one from the dark ages of the Met, the other from the wrong side of the tracks. The partnership works really well, as you begin to empathise with the other main characters, plus Donna and Malc, a couple that you aren't likely to forget in a hurry! Read it for yourself, and then tell me that I'm wrong! Sainsburys Entertainment, 5 stars Introduces a new detective duo to crime fiction and guarantees some open mouth reading. I look forward to see what he has in store for Pearson and Russell. Woman's Way A cracker of a crime debut: Hardie's crime debut is a cracker with a cunningly twisted plot. Peterborough Evening Telegraphshow more

About Mark Hardie

Mark Hardie began writing full time after completely losing his eyesight in 2002. He has completed a creative writing course and an advanced creative writing course at the Open University, both with distinction.show more

Rating details

97 ratings
3.57 out of 5 stars
5 6% (6)
4 55% (53)
3 31% (30)
2 7% (7)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X