The Broken
17%
off

The Broken

3.7 (1,821 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

The Daily Mail bookclub favourite read of 2015 'It's essential you get your hands on this thriller' Closer 'A work of near genius' Daily Mail - the best psychological thriller for fans of GIRL ON THE TRAIN and I LET YOU GO 'Chillingly brilliant thriller' Red Magazine 'Taut, tense, addictive' Good Housekeeping Best friends tell you everything; about their kitchen renovation; about their little girl's schooling. How one of them is leaving the other for a younger model. Best friends don't tell lies. They don't take up residence on your couch for weeks. They don't call lawyers. They don't make you choose sides. Best friends don't keep secrets about their past. They don't put you in danger. Best friends don't always stay best friends. 'Chillingly real psychological drama. I loved it' LISA JEWELL 'A shocking twist' PAULA DALY 'A gripping thriller of betrayal and revenge' Essentials magazine Book of the Monthshow more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 127 x 198 x 25mm | 277g
  • Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • Black Swan
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0552779377
  • 9780552779371
  • 288,139

Review quote

"A chillingly real psychological drama that had me in a total reading frenzy. I absolutely loved it." -- Lisa Jewell "Darkly compelling .... a pacy story that kept me turning the pages right until the final, shocking twist." -- Paula Daly "A brilliant and skilfully plotted depiction of the unexpected breakdown of a friendship between two couples, with one of the most chilling twists I've read in a long time. I couldn't put it down." * Louise Millar, author of THE PLAYDATE * "A wonderfully compelling and exciting book, a storyline that had sparks flying from every page, terrific writing and a hugely exhilerating and thrilling read. I loved it!" * Louise Douglas * "An inexorable drama in which the characters' prejudices and loyalties leave them unable to separate face value from reality. THE BROKEN explores manipulation, deceit, betrayal and abuse, and how loss can both shape and destroy us." -- Elizabeth Forbes, author of NEAREST THING TO CRAZY "I raced to finish this story of a couple caught in the fall-out of their best friends' split. Beautifully written and peppered with moments of stunning observation, it's a superb read." -- Amanda Jennings "Reading Tamar Cohen's THE BROKEN is like sitting down with your most eloquent, quick-witted friend. She sees every side of the story. She's always one step ahead of you, full of empathy and insight. This is a story of the implicit social pacts of marriage, a fresh examination of human nature. And also, let's just say it. It's downright, utter, nasty, page-turning, delicious fun." * Caroline Kepnes, author of YOU * "Fabulous. I was drawn in from the very first page. Tamar is very skilled at creating characters that seem so real, almost as if we're their best friends too, yet beneath their exteriors, you just know there's so much more simmering away. The tension grew with every page turn, until it was almost unbearable, yet I couldn't stop reading! I literally gasped out loud, so shocked by the very unexpected ending. This brilliant book will be on my mind for a long time." * Samantha Hayes, author of UNTIL YOU'RE MINE * "Compulsive reading ... the tension racks up and the book switches from domestic drama into full-blown, chilling thriller" * Essentials, Book of the Month * "Everyone's talking about this ... A gripping cocktail of betrayal and revenge" * Prima Magazine * "Dramatic, sad and tense, it's essential you get your hands on this thriller. (Five stars)" * Closer * "A chillingly brilliant thriller" * Red Magazine * "A sustained work of near genius that takes a very familiar theme - man leaves wife for younger model - and not only brilliantly dissects the breakdown of the marriage but also teh consequences for the couple's close circle of friends ...Cohen's first foray into psychological suspense is a triumph." * Daily Mail * "Taut, tense and addictive" * Good Housekeeping * "Cohen's marital drama morphs into a psychological thriller, and a last-minute twist set into motion much earlier in the narrative is brilliant." * Publishers Weekly US *show more

About Tamar Cohen

Tamar Cohen is a freelance journalist. A late starter to fiction (and to other things besides) The Broken is her fourth novel. Her previous novels:The Mistress's Revenge, The War of the Wives, and Someone Else's Wedding, are all published by Doubleday. She is a Writer in Residence at Kingston University and lives in North London with her partner and three (nearly) grown children, plus one very badly behaved dog. Follow her on Twitter @MsTamarCohenshow more

Review Text

"Reading Tamar Cohen's THE BROKEN is like sitting down with your most eloquent, quick-witted friend. She sees every side of the story. She's always one step ahead of you, full of empathy and insight. This is a story of the implicit social pacts of marriage, a fresh examination of human nature. And also, let's just say it. It's downright, utter, nasty, page-turning, delicious fun."show more

Rating details

1,821 ratings
3.7 out of 5 stars
5 26% (475)
4 35% (632)
3 26% (475)
2 10% (180)
1 3% (59)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X