British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974

British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974

Edited by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


This book analyses the changing role of the British Foreign Secretary and presents biographical case studies of all the individual holders of that post, the policies they persued and the issues they faced, since 1974. The work of the British Foreign Secretaries from James Callaghan to Robin Cook is examined in the context of the foreign policy-making machinery, the changing environment of British foreign policy, and the internal and external political forces with which they had to contend. Using a biographical case study approach, the chapters examine the careers, personalities, policies and influence of successive Foreign Secretaries to increase our knowledge and understanding of the work of the government, and the development of British foreign policy over the last thirty years. British Foreign Secretaries Since 1974 casts light on the hitherto shadowy and understudied role of personality in international relations and on how ten very different personalities helped to shape the detail and the articulation of British foreign more

Product details

  • Paperback | 296 pages
  • 156 x 234 x 15.75mm | 460g
  • Taylor & Francis Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1138874663
  • 9781138874664

Table of contents

1. The Changing Role of the British Foreign Secretary Kevin Theakston2. James Callaghan, 1974-76 David Allen3. Anthony Crosland, 1976-77 Oliver J. Daddow4. David Owen, 1977-79 Fergus Carr5. Lord Carrington, 1979-82 Harry Bennett6. Francis Pym, 1982-83 Marl Stuart7. Geoffrey Howe, 1983-89 David Seawright8. John Major, 1989 Damian Thwaites9. Douglas Hurd, 1989-95 Mark Stuart10. Malcolm Rifkind, 1995-97 Damian Thwaites11. Robin Cook, 1997-2001 Rhiannon Vickers12. British Foreign Secretaries from Callaghan to Cook David Hannayshow more