Brightfall
10%
off

Brightfall

3.93 (82 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Immensely satisfying' Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon

Someone is murdering the Merry Men . . .

It's been a mostly quiet life since Robin Hood put aside his pregnant wife Marian, turned his back on his Merry Men and his former life and retreated to a monastery to repent his sins . . . although no one knows what was so heinous he would leave behind Sherwood Forest and those he loved most.

But when friends from their outlaw days start dying, Father Tuck, now the Abbott of St Mary's, suspects a curse and begs Marian to use her magic to break it. A grieving Marian must bargain for protection for her children before she sets out with a soldier who's lost his faith, a trickster Fey lord, and a sullen Robin Hood, angry at being drawn back into the real world.

It's not long before Marian finds herself enmeshed in a maze of secrets and betrayals, tangled relationships and a vicious struggle for the Fey throne.

And if she can't find and stop the spell-caster, no protection in Sherwood Forest will be enough to save her children.

A wonderful re-imagining of Robin Hood and Maid Marian, perfect for fans of Katherine Arden, Naomi Novik and Christina Henry.

'Beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier' Stephanie Burgis, author of Masks and Shadows
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 156 x 236 x 34mm | 520g
  • Jo Fletcher Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 178747920X
  • 9781787479203
  • 584,527

Review quote

Beautifully done with an enjoyable plot and relatable characters * SF Crowsnest * A vivid re-imagining of the Robin Hood legend * Choice * I fell in love with this book * Scrapping & Playing * Full of magic * Always Trust in Books * If you are someone who believes no story is complete without at least one wise and scaly dragon, then this is the book for you * Historical Novel Society * I adored this . . . Marian is a heroine I will treasure, and I feel like every time I read this, it will take me back to that wonderful feeling. It's unmissable. Five out of five cats, obviously. * A Cat, A Book, and A Cup of Tea * An immensely fun and entertaining read * Nicki J Markus * The plot is fast paced, it keeps you hooked and entertained till the last page . . . Highly recommended * Annarellix * Twists upon twists upon twists . . . Highly recommended * Reader's Retreat * A strong character study of a post-Sherwood Marian, with a good set of characters around her that richly fill her magical forest * Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together * Different and well written with interesting characters, magic and mystery * Storgy * I loved spending time in this world with these characters * Ruby Hosh * The tale of Robin Hood has been remixed many times, but Jaime Lee Moyer's take on the old outlaw is one of the most intriguing so far * Starburst * Brightfall is like a traditional ballad; sad and sweet, full of romance and longing and murder, with a dragon at its heart. I loved it. It will go on my keeper shelf * Patrice Sarath, Author of The Sisters Mederos and Fog Season * This is a solid, engaging story . . . I enjoyed it a lot * Liz Bourke, Tor.com * A genuinely new take on the Robin Hood tales . . . A treat for those who like their myths with extra magic * The Times * Putting a contemporary twist on a centuries old myth, Brightfall breathes new life into the tale of Robin Hood - bringing Marian to the fore and plunging her into a mystery that threatens the lives of all she loves * The Bookbag * Boldly envisioned and beautifully told, Brightfall will change the Robin and Marian mythos forever * Sebastien de Castell, author of the Greatcoats quartet * [A] brave retelling * Daily Mail * An immensely satisfying read with its unexpected and unique twist on the legend of Sherwood Forest, Robin and his men, and the brave, determined, resilient Marian * Kate Elliott, author of King's Dragon * Brightfall is beautiful inside and out, gorgeously written and filled with bittersweet magic. A lush, immersive read, perfect for readers of Juliet Marillier. I loved it * Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Masks and Shadows *
show more

About Jaime Lee Moyer

Jaime Lee Moyer lives in a dry land of cactus and cowboys while dreaming of tall trees and the ocean. She writes novels about murder and betrayal, friendship, ghosts and magic. She is the author of Brightfall, also published by Jo Fletcher Books, as well as Delia's Shadow, A Barricade In Hell and Against A Brightening Sky.
show more

Rating details

82 ratings
3.93 out of 5 stars
5 35% (29)
4 30% (25)
3 27% (22)
2 7% (6)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X