The Daughters of Hampshire: Bride of a Distant Isle: A Novel

The Daughters of Hampshire: Bride of a Distant Isle: A Novel

3.96 (614 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 16-21 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

An unforgettable romance set in Victorian England, Bride of A Distant Isle is the engrossing story of Annabel Ashton, who fights to save her family home and her mother's honor while trying to figure out if the man she loves wants her--or just wants to use her to achieve his own ambitions.

Miss Annabel Ashton is a teacher at the Rogers School for Young Ladies in Winchester when she takes a brief visit to her family home, Highcliffe Hall at Milford-on-Sea. She believes her stay will be short but soon learns that she will not be returning to the safety of the school. Instead, she remains at Highcliffe, at the mercy of her cousin, Edward Everedge.

Annabel protests, but as the illegitimate daughter of a woman who died in an insane asylum, she has little say. Edward is running out of money and puts the house up for sale to avoid financial ruin. He insists that Annabel marry, promising her to a sinister, frightening man. But as the house gets packed for sale, it begins to reveal disquieting secrets. Jewelry, artifacts, and portraits mysteriously appear, suggesting that Annabel may be the true heir of Highcliffe.

She has only a few months to prove her legitimacy, perhaps with assistance from the handsome but troubled Maltese Captain Dell'Acqua. But does he have Annabel's best interests at heart?

And then, a final, most ominous barrier to both her inheritance and her existence appears: a situation neither she nor anyone else could have expected. Will Annabel regain her life and property--and trust her heart--before it's too late?
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 137.16 x 210.82 x 25.4mm | 317.51g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 1476717893
  • 9781476717890
  • 1,101,332

Review quote

An irresistible blend of mystery, impeccable research and haunting plot twists make Bride of a Distant Isle a feast for lovers of Gothic Romance! Not since I discovered the Brontës have I been so deeply engrossed in a Gothic Romance. Fans of Jane Eyre and Rebecca, prepare to be dazzled by Sandra Byrd's magnificent Bride of a Distant Isle!--Ella March Chase, author of The Queen's Dwarf
show more

Rating details

614 ratings
3.96 out of 5 stars
5 31% (190)
4 41% (251)
3 22% (137)
2 5% (28)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X