Breathe

Breathe

3.69 (17,415 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

The world has no air. If you want to survive, you pay to breathe. But what if you can't? And what if you think everything could be different? Three teens will leave everything they know behind in Sarah Crossan's gripping and original dystopian teen novel of danger, longing, and glimmering hope that will appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and Veronica Roth.

National Book Award Finalist Kathleen Duey called Breathe An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can. Ever since the Switch, when the oxygen levels plummeted and most of humanity died, the survivors have been protected in glass domes full of manufactured air. Protected . . . or trapped? Or controlled? Alina's a revolutionary who believes we can save the environment. Quinn's a Premium who's never had to worry about having enough air. His best friend, Bea, is an Auxiliary who's never worried about anything but having enough air. When the three cross paths, they will change everything. Sarah Crossan's thrilling and provocative novel is about passion, about yearning for something better, and about breaking free for the very first time. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books proclaims it an action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for.
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 142 x 213 x 41mm | 454g
  • English
  • 0062118692
  • 9780062118691
  • 689,071

Back cover copy

Inhale. Exhale.
Breathe.
Breathe.
Breathe . . .
The world is dead.
The survivors live under the protection of Breathe, the corporation that found a way to manufacture oxygen-rich air.

Alina
has been stealing for a long time. She's a little jittery, but not terrified. All she knows is that she's never been caught before. If she's careful, it'll be easy. If she's careful.

Quinn
should be worried about Alina and a bit afraid for himself, too, but even though this is dangerous, it's also the most interesting thing to happen to him in ages. It isn't every day that the girl of your dreams asks you to rescue her.

Bea
wants to tell him that none of this is fair; they'd planned a trip together, the two of them, and she'd hoped he'd discover her out here, not another girl.

And as they walk into the Outlands with two days' worth of oxygen in their tanks, everything they believe will be shattered. Will they be able to make it back? Will they want to?
show more

Review quote

"An amazing story! Sit down. Inhale. Now, while you still can." -- Kathleen Duey, author of National Book Award finalist Skin Hunger

"This joins the ranks of Roth's Divergent and Wells' Partials as a provocative, character-driven, and action-packed dystopian series opener to watch out for." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"Short cliff-hanger chapters alternate between the three teens' points of view and build to an ending that will leave fans breathless for the next one." -- ALA Booklist

"Sci-fi fans with an environmental bent will find this book particularly engaging." -- Horn Book Magazine
show more

Rating details

17,415 ratings
3.69 out of 5 stars
5 25% (4,307)
4 35% (6,009)
3 29% (5,022)
2 9% (1,558)
1 3% (519)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X