The Breakaways

The Breakaways

3.37 (1,991 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.
Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

Faith, an introverted fifth grader with a vivid imagination, starts middle school worrying about how she will fit in. To her surprise, Amanda, a popular eighth grader, convinces her to join the school soccer team, the Bloodhounds. Having never played soccer in her life, Faith ends up on the C team, a ragtag group with a tendency for drama over teamwork. Despite their losing streak, Faith and her fellow teammates form strong bonds both on and off the soccer field, which challenge their notions of loyalty, identity, friendship, and unity.

The Breakaways is a positive exploration of the complexity of female friendships, as well as the ups and downs of middle school life. Cathy G. Johnson brings this diverse and spirited group of girls to life with her joyful art style and honest, thoughtful writing.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 224 pages
  • 141 x 202 x 17mm | 410g
  • First Second
  • New Milford, United States
  • English
  • Full-color illustrations throughout
  • 1626723575
  • 9781626723573
  • 567,203

Review quote

A down-to-earth friendship story for readers of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward, Jennifer L. Holm's Sunny Side Up, and Raina Telgemeier's Drama. --School Library Journal
show more

About Cathy G. Johnson

Cathy G. Johnson is a cartoonist and educator in Providence, Rhode Island. The Breakaways is her third graphic novel, after Gorgeous (2016) with Koyama Press and Jeremiah (2015) with One Percent Press. She earned her master's degree in Teaching & Learning in Art & Design from the Rhode Island School of Design in June 2017, where she wrote her thesis about the benefits of teaching comics in visual arts education. She continues that work on her education website, ComicArtEd.com.
show more

Rating details

1,991 ratings
3.37 out of 5 stars
5 21% (421)
4 22% (430)
3 35% (704)
2 17% (336)
1 5% (100)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X