Brain on Fire
17%
off

Brain on Fire : My Month of Madness

4.05 (156,342 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING CHLO GRACE MORETZ An award-winning memoir and instant New York Times bestseller that goes far beyond its riveting medical mystery, Brain on Fire is the powerful account of one woman's strugg
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 266 pages
  • 140 x 211 x 20mm | 249g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1451621388
  • 9781451621389
  • 25,843

Review Text

"Captivating...Cahalan's prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin." New York Times Book Review
show more

Review quote

"Captivating...Cahalan's prose carries a sharp, unsparing tabloid punch in the tradition of Pete Hamill and Jimmy Breslin."-- "New York Times Book Review"
show more

About Susannah Cahalan

Cahalan, Susannah
Susannah Cahalan is a news reporter at the New York Post whose award-winning work has also been featured in The New York Times. She lives in Jersey City, New Jersey.
show more

Rating details

156,342 ratings
4.05 out of 5 stars
5 35% (54,936)
4 41% (64,115)
3 19% (29,661)
2 4% (5,683)
1 1% (1,947)

Our customer reviews

This is a true story. Susannah thinks she has bedbugs and she feels strangely detached from situations in her life, that's how it begins. The situation is rapidly getting worse. When she finally ends up in the hospital after several seizures having hardly anything of her old self left nobody knows what's happening to her. Until she finds a doctor who will do anything to find out. She has a rare condition and needs treatment for many months. The recovery being the hardest part of her illness. Susannah Cahalan describes such a difficult time in her life with an admiringly openness and honesty. She isn't afraid to share her most vulnerable memories to show what she's been through and to make others aware of her condition. That is beautiful. She's a journalist who had to dig into her own life to get to the truth about her month in the hospital, because she had no memory of that time. Her family and close friends helped as well as they could. It all resulted in this amazing book. Her illness was terrible and she had to rediscover her whole personality. Yet, she did everything she could to beat the disease, she is remarkably strong and because of her many other people have been helped. Besides that she's a great writer. I wanted to know what happened to her and couldn't put this book away. It's a must read for everyone.show more
by Librarian Lavender
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X