The Boy in the Red Dress
14%
off

The Boy in the Red Dress

3.85 (1,088 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 7-12 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

A Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue meets Miss Fisher's Murder Mystery in this rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts.

New Year's Eve, 1929.

Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new year is just around the corner, and all of New Orleans is out to celebrate, but even wealthy partiers' diamond earrings can't outshine the real star of the night: the boy in the red dress. Marion is the club's star performer and his fans are legion--if mostly underground.

When a young socialite wielding a photograph of Marion starts asking questions, Millie wonders if she's just another fan. But then her body is found crumpled in the courtyard, dead from an apparent fall off the club's balcony, and all signs point to Marion as the murderer. Millie knows he's innocent, but local detectives aren't so easily convinced.

As she chases clues that lead to cemeteries and dead ends, Millie's attention is divided between the wry and beautiful Olive, a waitress at the Cloak & Dagger, and Bennie, the charming bootlegger who's offered to help her solve the case. The clock is ticking for the fugitive Marion, but the truth of who the killer is might be closer than Millie thinks.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 368 pages
  • 146 x 217 x 32mm | 482g
  • VIKING BOOKS FOR YOUNG READERS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0593113683
  • 9780593113684
  • 85,626

Review quote

Raves for The Boy in the Red Dress

"A twisty Jazz Age mystery with a diverse cast of characters, and an exciting NOLA setting that comes alive. Perfect for fans of Veronica Mars and The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue." -- Kerri Maniscalco, #1 New Year Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Stalking Jack the Ripper series
show more

About Kristin Lambert

Kristin Lambert has a BA in journalism and creative writing. She lives in the South with her husband, two daughters, two cats, a sewing machine, and a truly absurd amount of creepy old dolls. The Boy in the Red Dress is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

1,088 ratings
3.85 out of 5 stars
5 24% (265)
4 43% (468)
3 27% (289)
2 5% (58)
1 1% (8)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X