Boy Alone

Boy Alone : A Brother's Memoir

3.68 (415 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"Extraordinary... Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a `beautiful' boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life."
- Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain

"Beautiful and powerful .... A masterpiece of literature and memory."
- Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe

"Gripping."
- Washington Post

A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff's Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 21mm | 265g
  • HarperPerennial
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0061136670
  • 9780061136672
  • 782,520

Back cover copy

Karl Taro Greenfeld knew from an early age that his little brother, Noah, was not like other children. He was unable to communicate verbally or tie his shoes, and despite his angelic demeanor was prone to violent outbursts. No doctor, social worker, or specialist could pinpoint what was wrong with Noah beyond a general diagnosis: autism. The boys' parents dedicated their lives to caring for their younger son--a challenging, often painful experience that their father detailed in a bestselling trilogy of books.

Boy Alone is Karl Taro Greenfeld's unforgettable memoir of growing up in Noah's shadow, revealing the complex mix of rage, confusion, and love that defined the author's childhood--a beautiful, haunting, and wholly original exploration of what it means to be a family, a brother, a person.
show more

Review quote

"Gripping." -- Suki Casanave, Washington Post
show more

About Karl Taro Greenfeld

Karl Taro Greenfeld is the author of seven previous books, including the novel Triburbia and the acclaimed memoir Boy Alone. His award-winning writing has appeared in Harper's Magazine, The Atlantic, The Paris Review, Best American Short Stories 2009 and 2013, and The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories 2012. Born in Kobe, Japan, he has lived in Paris, Hong Kong, and Tokyo, and currently lives in Pacific Palisades, California, with his wife, Silka, and their daughters, Esmee and Lola.
show more

Rating details

415 ratings
3.68 out of 5 stars
5 25% (104)
4 34% (141)
3 28% (116)
2 11% (44)
1 2% (10)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X