Born of Illusion

Born of Illusion

3.73 (4,129 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother--and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers. As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini--or so her mother claims--gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide. Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 373 pages
  • 148 x 210 x 34mm | 439.99g
  • Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062187546
  • 9780062187543
  • 477,918

Review quote

"I suppose I could wax on about this book's strengths--its magic, romance and exquisite historical detail--but the bottom line is: Teri Brown's BORN OF ILLUSION is the most thoroughly enjoyable novel I've read all year."--Lauren Baratz-Logsted, author of THE TWIN'S DAUGHTERshow more

Back cover copy

Anna Van Housen has a secret. A gifted illusionist, Anna assists her mother, the renowned medium Marguerite Van Housen, in her stage show and seances, easily navigating the underground world of magicians and mentalists in 1920s New York. For Anna, the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini--or so Marguerite claims--handcuffs and sleight-of-hand illusions have never been much of a challenge. The real trick is keeping her own gifts secret from her mother: because while Marguerite's powers may be a sham, Anna possesses a true ability to sense people's feelings and foretell the future. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions of her mother in peril, which lead her to explore the abilities she's tried so long to hide. And when a mysterious young man named Cole moves into the flat downstairs, introducing Anna to a society that studies people with gifts like hers, she begins to wonder if there's more to life than keeping secrets. As her visions become darker and her powers spin out of her control, Anna is forced to rethink all she's ever known. Is her mother truly in danger, or are Anna's visions merely illusions? And could the great Houdini really be her father, or is it just another of Marguerite's tricks? From Teri Brown comes a world bursting with magic, with romance, with the temptations of Jazz Age New York--and the story of a girl about to become the mistress of her own destiny.show more

Our customer reviews

What a cool way to teach us kids about the history of secret societies coming from the real live secret societies from the 1800′s. This is a very exciting book that makes you want to jump inside and wish you could be Anna. Read FULL review at http://www.musingwithcrayolakym.com/3/post/2013/09/born-of-illusion.htmlshow more
by Kim Heimbuch
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X