Born of Deception
26%
off

Born of Deception

3.4 (633 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel--and sequel to Born of Illusion--tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her. After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van Housen is moving to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for people like her with psychic abilities. But when Anna arrives, she finds the group in turmoil--one of its members has been kidnapped, and members of the society are starting to turn on one another. Her life in danger and her relationship with her boyfriend, Cole, fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim--or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers? Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Deception and its world of magic set in Jazz Age London.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 328 pages
  • 134.62 x 213.36 x 33.02mm | 408.23g
  • Balzer & Bray/Harperteen
  • English
  • 0062187570
  • 9780062187574
  • 1,126,152

Review quote

A riveting mix of mystery, romance and history --Kirkus Reviews"show more

Back cover copy

Budding illusionist Anna Van Housen is on top of the world. After scoring a spot on a prestigious European vaudeville tour, she's moving to London to chase her dream and to join the Society for Psychical Research, an underground group for Sensitives, people like her with psychic abilities. Along with her handsome beau, Cole Archer, Anna is prepared to take the city by storm. But when Anna arrives in London, she finds the Society in turmoil. Sensitives are disappearing, and without a suspect, the group's members are turning on one another. Could the kidnapper be someone within the Society itself--or has the nefarious Dr. Boyle followed them to London? As secrets about the Society are revealed and Cole and Anna begin to unravel the case, they find themselves at odds, their plans for romance in London having vanished. With her life in danger and her relationship fizzling, can Anna find a way to track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim--or will she have to pay the ultimate price for her powers? Set in Jazz Age London, this alluring sequel to Born of Illusion comes alive with sparkling romance, deadly intrigue, and daring magic.show more

Rating details

633 ratings
3.4 out of 5 stars
5 16% (99)
4 28% (175)
3 40% (256)
2 14% (88)
1 2% (15)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X