The Bookman's Tale

The Bookman's Tale

3.75 (13,552 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

After the death of his wife, Peter Byerly, a young antiquarian bookseller, relocates from the States to the English countryside, where he hopes to rediscover the joys of life through his passion for collecting and restoring rare books. But when he opens an eighteenth-century study on Shakespeare forgeries, he is shocked to find a Victorian portrait strikingly similar to his wife tumble out of its pages, and becomes obsessed with tracking down its origins. As he follows the trail back to the nineteenth centuy and then to Shakespeare's time, Peter learns the truth about his own past and unearths a book that might prove that Shakespeare was indeed the author of all his plays.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 128 x 198 x 25mm | 310g
  • Surrey, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1846883024
  • 9781846883026
  • 50,940

Review quote

A gripping literary mystery that is compulsively readable until the thrilling end. For fans of Geraldine Brooks's People of the Book, Shakespeare aficionados, and bibliophiles. * Library Journal * A pleasurably escapist mystery is intricately layered with plots, murders, feuds, romances, forgeries-and antiquarian book dealing. * Kirkus * I don't read much fiction. I'm picky. But I loved racing through Charlie Lovett's The Bookman's Tale, a richly rewarding thriller filled with real-world details about the discovery of a rare book that may or may not be a priceless Shakespearean artifact. Fun for everyone who's ever fondled a soft leather binding! -- Daniel Singer, founder, Reduced Shakespeare Company and co-author of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare It is a beautifully-crafter book that has the reader enthralled, especially the bibliophiles among us. It is so refreshing to find a thriller with a new angle. * Yorkshire Gazette *
show more

About Charlie Lovett

Charlie Lovett is a writer, teacher, and playwright, whose plays for children have been seen in more than three thousand productions. He is a former antiquarian bookseller and an avid book collector. He and his wife split their time between Winston-Salem, North Carolina, and Kingham, Oxfordshire.
show more

Rating details

13,552 ratings
3.75 out of 5 stars
5 22% (2,937)
4 42% (5,667)
3 28% (3,830)
2 7% (887)
1 2% (231)

Our customer reviews

The book is absolutely wonderful - I found it really hard to put it down at night and for the first time in ages, I have read a book during the day! I have just finished it and thoroughly recommend it. It was a really interesting story-line, it was very well written, and even though there are different time periods in the story, I had no difficulty following which time period was being written about.show more
by Justine Pickering
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X