The Bookish Life of Nina Hill

The Bookish Life of Nina Hill : 'GORGEOUS' Marian Keyes

3.83 (72,865 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 9-14 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

*The hilarious new novel from Abbi Waxman - I WAS TOLD IT WOULD GET EASIER - is available now*

Abbi Waxman's charming novel follows introvert and bookworm Nina Hill as she discovers if real life can ever live up to fiction... Shortlisted for the Comedy Women In Print Prize, this novel is perfect for fans of Lucy Diamond and Maria Semple.

'GORGEOUS' Marian Keyes

'Like a big slab of your favourite cake in book form' Libby Page, author of The Lido

Meet Nina Hill: A young woman supremely confident in her own. . . shell.

Nina has her life just as she wants it: a job in a bookstore, an excellent trivia team and a cat named Phil. If she sometimes suspects there might be more to life than reading, she just shrugs and picks up a new book.

So when the father she never knew existed dies, leaving behind innumerable sisters, brothers, nieces, and nephews, Nina is horrified. They all live close by! She'll have to Speak. To. Strangers.

And if that wasn't enough, Tom, her trivia nemesis, has turned out to be cute, funny and interested in getting to know her...

It's time for Nina to turn her own fresh page, and find out if real life can ever live up to fiction. . .

Praise for The Bookish Life of Nina Hill...

'Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely'
KATIE FFORDE

'Charmed by its funny loveliness'
NINA STIBBE, AUTHOR OF REASONS TO BE CHEERFUL

'Book lovers will absolutely relate'
O, THE OPRAH MAGAZINE

'Meet our bookish millennial heroine - a modern-day Elizabeth Bennet'
THE WASHINGTON POST

'A quirky, eccentric romance that will charm any bookworm'
ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

'I hope you're in the mood to be downright delighted, because that's the state you'll find yourself in'
POPSUGAR
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 128 x 196 x 26mm | 240g
  • Headline Review
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 9781472266217
  • 61,890

Review Text

GORGEOUS Marian Keyes
show more

Review quote

GORGEOUS * Marian Keyes * Charmed by its funny loveliness * Nina Stibbe, author of Reasons to be Cheerful * Funny, uplifting and a brilliant reminder of the magic of books. It's just such a deliciously lovely read, like a big slab of your favourite cake in book form. * Libby Page, author of The Lido * A funny and uplifting debut novel * Good Housekeeping * Like a conversation with the funniest person you know - just lovely * Katie Fforde * Abbi Waxman is both irreverent and thoughtful * #1 New York Times bestselling author Emily Giffin * Waxman has given us a grow bag full of emotion - witty, uplifting and unashamedly honest * Heidi Swain, Sunday Times bestselling author of Summer at Skylark Farm * The Garden of Small Beginnings is a quirky, funny, and deeply thoughtful book. . . . We're already dying to know if there will be a sequel * HelloGiggles on The Garden of Small Beginnings * Cosy, life-affirming read * Cathy Hopkins, author of The Kicking the Bucket List *
show more

About Abbi Waxman

ABBI WAXMAN is a chocolate-loving, dog-loving woman, who lives in Los Angeles and lies down as much as possible. She worked in advertising for many years, which is how she learned to write fiction. She has three daughters, two dogs, three cats, six chickens, two guinea pigs and one very patient husband.

I Was Told it Would Get Easier is Abbi's fourth novel. Her previous books are The Garden of Small Beginnings, Other People's Houses and The Bookish Life of Nina Hill.

You can keep in touch with Abbi through her website www.abbiwaxman.com, or on Instagram @abbiwaxman
show more

Rating details

72,865 ratings
3.83 out of 5 stars
5 24% (17,143)
4 43% (31,615)
3 26% (19,278)
2 5% (3,915)
1 1% (914)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X