Blythewood

Blythewood

3.87 (2,837 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Carol Goodman s "Blythewood" is reminiscent of both "Harry Potter "and "The Diviners," but in a way that doesn t distract from the entertaining story within."* After narrowly escaping death in the Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire, seventeen-year-old Avaline Hall is sent to Blythewood Academy, the elite girls boarding school in New York s Hudson Valley that her mother attended years before. Ava hopes to solve the mystery of her mother s death and its connection to the students who keep disappearing from Blythewood. But the school is not all that it appears . . . and neither is the handsome young man who saved Ava from the fire. What s the meaning of the extraordinary powers Ava possesses? Who s good and who s evil? And who has the right to make that distinction? *review of "Blythewood "by "Forever Young Adult""
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Paperback | 506 pages
  • 137.16 x 203.2 x 38.1mm | 453.59g
  • Penguin Putnam Inc
  • Penguin USA
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0142422517
  • 9780142422519
  • 357,702

Review quote

Praise for "Blythewood" "A beautifully evocative tale perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Tiffany Trent. First in a trilogy, Goodman's story is intriguing, romantic, eerie, and adventurous...a multifaceted and mature fantasy." "Publishers Weekly," starred review ..".a beautifully told fantasy, ripe with magic, forbidden love and unspeakably dark forces...a journey well worth taking." "Kirkus" ..".a treat for lovers of the gothic." "Booklist""Heavy in atmosphere with just enough romance, this novel is sure to find an appreciable following." "School Library Journal" Carol Goodman s "Blythewood" is reminiscent of both "Harry Potter "and "The Diviners," but in a way that doesn t distract from the entertaining story within. "Forever Young Adult""
show more

About Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman (www.carolgoodman.com) graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in Fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and works as a writer-in-residence. She lives in the Hudson Valley.
show more

Rating details

2,837 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 32% (902)
4 36% (1,014)
3 23% (663)
2 7% (185)
1 3% (73)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X