Blood Orange
16%
off

Blood Orange : The most 'heart-pounding' thriller of 2019

3.86 (1,882 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

'Shocking, addictive, dark domestic noir' SARAH PINBOROUGH

'Breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page' DAILY EXPRESS

'What a twist at the end!' LISA JEWELL

AN ELECTRIFYING DEBUT THRILLER FOR FANS OF APPLE TREE YARD AND ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL - INTRODUCING A STUNNING NEW VOICE IN PSYCHOLOGICAL SUSPENSE

Alison has it all. A doting husband, adorable daughter, and a career on the rise - she's just been given her first murder case to defend. But all is never as it seems...

Just one more night. Then I'll end it.

Alison drinks too much. She's neglecting her family. And she's having an affair with a colleague whose taste for pushing boundaries may be more than she can handle.

I did it. I killed him. I should be locked up.

Alison's client doesn't deny that she stabbed her husband - she wants to plead guilty. And yet something about her story is deeply amiss. Saving this woman may be the first step to Alison saving herself.

I'm watching you. I know what you're doing.

But someone knows Alison's secrets. Someone who wants to make her pay for what she's done, and who won't stop until she's lost everything....

BLOOD ORANGE IS:

'Gripping' Daily Mail

'Sizzlingly addictive' Heat

'Glittering and fierce . . . a glorious bonfire of a marriage thriller' Irish Times

'A smash hit' Best

'A very impressive debut' Observer

'Complex and compelling' Clare Mackintosh

'Dark and disturbing' Louise Jensen

'A superb, compulsive read' Tess Gerritsen

'Gloriously twisted' Emma Flint
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 336 pages
  • 163 x 242 x 33mm | 548g
  • Wildfire
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1472252756
  • 9781472252753
  • 9,566

Review quote

The way in which these two themes are entwined - Alison's humiliatingly sozzled, sex-mad life, and the case she is defending (rather well) - are deftly handled. There is a marvellous denouement * The Tablet * It is a terrific domestic noir that will be one of THE book club reads this year. * The Sun * A deftly plotted domestic noir thriller of the highest order with a shocking twist in the tail. Debut novelist Tyce is going places. * Irish Times Independent * This gripping novel, an absolute page-turner with many twists and turns, had me hooked from start to finish . . . If I didn't have to rise early for work I would have finished Blood Orange in a single sitting. * RTE Guide * One of the best psychological thrillers I have read for a long time... This book truly has it all! 10 stars out of 10. * Peterborough Telegraph * Blood Orange is dark and immensely readable. An impressive debut * The Times Saturday Review * Fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Girl on the Train will love the atmosphere of clenched ambiguity Tyce sustains so well. -- John O'Connell * Guardian * An addictive and unforgettable domestic noir, at once shocking, sharp and seriously twisted * Culturefly * We were gripped * Bella * Blood Orange is glittering and fierce and resolutely unsentimental, a glorious bonfire of a marriage thriller * Irish Times * Complex and menacing, this is a very impressive debut -- Alison Flood * Observer * If The Girl On The Train gave you a taste for alcoholic female narrators grasping at their last chance to turn their lives around, you'll like Blood Orange, which I think is even better * Sunday Express * This is essential reading for fans of Girl On The Train and Apple Tree Yard, and it is just as unpredictable and page-turningly good. It is as disturbing as it is gripping and not for the faint-hearted * Herald * I read this in one sitting and thoroughly, thoroughly enjoyed it. Would definitely recommend * Woman's Weekly * A dark and disturbing thriller - we were gripped * Closer * Tyce gives the domestic noir a timely update with this dark debut * iNews * Dark, sophisticated and sexy, Blood Orange is a powerful debut in the vein of Apple Tree Yard, that had me gripped to its very last page. I couldn't recommend it more highly -- Elizabeth Fremantle * Queen's Gambit * I raced through Blood Orange by Harriet Tyce, which is oh-so-timely and had me gasping aloud at the final twist -- Hannah Beckerman Dark and compelling. * Mel McGrath * We get it, every thriller going is "the new The Girl on the Train", but this one really does have you turning the pages in the same obsessive way ... It's not all about the twisty ending like some other thrillers. Instead it deals with issues faced by career women and the notion of "good" and "bad" in a way that will keep you thinking long after you've found out what happens. * Cosmopolitan * It was all brilliantly done. Writing, plotting, characters - wonderful and deeply satisfying, devour-in-one-sitting stuff!' -- Lucy Mangan * Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading * The debut novel of the year. Harriet Tyce is now on my 'must read' list -- Jeff Abbott * The Sam Capra Series * Combines sharp spare prose with a gloriously twisted plot - I read this in one heart-pounding, furiously angry sitting -- Emma Flint * Little Deaths * This brilliant debut from Harriet Tyce has it all - a tricky murder case, a complex and conflicted female barrister battling her own demons, and layer upon layer of intrigue as Blood Orange flows towards its breath-taking ending. -- Rachel Abbott * Only the Innocent * Blood Orange kept me frantically turning the pages, desperate to know what would happen next. A superb, compulsive read! -- Tess Gerritsen * I Know a Secret * A dark and disturbing domestic noir -- Louise Jensen * The Sister * Gritty and compelling, Blood Orange drags you right into the hearts of the flawed characters and their stories from the get go. A book that will keep you up all night -- Kate Hamer * The Girl in the Red Coat * A classy thriller with complex and compelling characters -- Clare Mackintosh * I See You * Blood Orange is destined to be the debut that everyone is talking about in 2019. Dark, original and utterly compelling, I could not put it down. And what a twist at the end! -- Lisa Jewell * Then She Was Gone * Harriet Tyce brings a new layer of visceral, addictive dark to domestic noir. Obsession, revenge, lust and murder play out on the pages as a female barrister tries to hold her life together while her personality tries to tear it apart. At once shocking and riveting, I simply couldn't stop reading. Bravo -- Sarah Pinborough * Behind Her Eyes * An addictive and unforgettable domestic noir, at once shocking, sharp and seriously twisted. It's the perfect book to binge read over the weekend * Culturefly * A sizzlingly addictive read . . . its mysteries unfurl brilliantly to that often most elusive quality: a genuinely satisfying end. Five stars' -- Lisa Howells * Heat * A heart-pounding thriller . . . and deliciously twisty plot * Good Housekeeping * This thriller breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page * Daily Express * A smash hit * Best * Gripping * Daily Mail *
show more

About Harriet Tyce

Harriet Tyce grew up in Edinburgh and studied English at Oxford University before doing a law conversion course at City University. She practised as a criminal barrister in London for nearly a decade, and recently completed an MA in Creative Writing - Crime Fiction at the University of East Anglia. She lives in north London. Blood Orange is her debut novel.
show more

Rating details

1,882 ratings
3.86 out of 5 stars
5 31% (575)
4 37% (690)
3 24% (445)
2 7% (128)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X