Blood Magic

Blood Magic

3.66 (10,303 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$17.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephanie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla."
show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 408 pages
  • 142 x 211 x 41mm | 522g
  • New York, NY, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0375867333
  • 9780375867330
  • 264,887

About Tessa Gratton

TESSA GRATTON has wanted to be a paleontologist or a wizard since she was seven. She was too impatient to hunt dinosaurs, but is still searching for someone to teach her magic. After traveling the world with her military family, she acquired a BA (and the important parts of an MA) in Gender Studies, then settled down in Kansas with her partner, her cats, and her mutant dog. You can visit Tessa at TessaGratton.com.
show more

Rating details

10,303 ratings
3.66 out of 5 stars
5 29% (3,011)
4 29% (3,004)
3 26% (2,701)
2 10% (1,047)
1 5% (540)

Our customer reviews

When Silla Kennicott receives a mysterious book and a note signed by "The Deacon", she is surprised to find the book contains a bunch of magic spells all written in her late father's handwriting. She immediately goes to the cemetery to try out the spell book. She can't help it. This book came from her father, and since her parents both died in an apparent murder/suicide, she needs answers. When her blood drips onto a dead leaf which slowly springs to life, it's then Silla realizes this book holds some truly amazing secrets. With this revelation comes more questions: who was her dad and what else had he been hiding? The other problem? Nicholas, the boy who just moved in next door, saw her in the cemetery. What all did he see, and more importantly, who will he tell? Soon, Silla discovers that Nicholas has a few secrets of his own, and with the help of Silla's brother, the three of them attempt to uncover the secrets behind the blood magic inside the book. But there's something else out there that wants the book for its own evil purposes, and it needs Silla's blood to achieve its goal. Before they know it, the three of them are facing off against a decades old evil that is more powerful than anything they could ever imagine. I REALLY liked this book. Tessa Gratton's writing flows freely, and the story is very engaging and original. The novel is written in first-person POV, alternating between Nicholas and Silla, with journal entries thrown in to give the reader plenty of back story. I'd figured out who the antagonist was way before the reveal, but that didn't ruin the experience for me. My only gripe is that Silla and Nick's instant attraction and resulting relationship felt a little rushed. This wasn't enough to ruin the book for me, though. The story is engaging, well-written and full of surprises. I highly recommend this one.show more
by ODell
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X