Blood-Kissed Sky

Blood-Kissed Sky

4.08 (4,874 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$9.99

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

Description

The second book in a romantic and drama-packed trilogy perfect for fans of Rachel Vincent, Julie Kagawa, and Alyson Noel.

Lusciously romantic and full of action-packed drama, readers will be swept away by this thrilling novel.

Dawn Montgomery knows that monsters really do come out at night-after all, they are her job. It's just after the thirty-year war between vampires and humans, and as an ambassador between the two sides (a role she inherited when her parents were killed), Dawn quickly learns that balancing schoolwork, teen life, and the requests of Lord Valentine, the most frightening vampire in the region, isn't easy.

There's nowhere left to hide. I thought vampires were our enemies-they controlled our lives, isolated our cities, and demanded our blood-until I met Victor. With Victor taking over as the new Lord Valentine, things were supposed to get better. Instead, they're worse than ever.

Day Walkers, a new breed of vampires who can walk in the sun, are terrorizing the city. Blood supplies are low, and if Victor's vampires don't get enough, they will become infected with the Thirst-a disease that will turn them into mindless killers.

To stop it, I must journey across the desolate wasteland to the very place where the sickness began. I can only hope that the answers that await me are enough to save us all...before it's too late.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 368 pages
  • 135 x 203 x 21.59mm | 268g
  • HarperTeen
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062020668
  • 9780062020666
  • 405,486

Looking for beautiful books?

Visit our Beautiful Books page and find lovely books for kids, photography lovers and more. Shop now .

Back cover copy

There's nowhere left to hide.

Ithought vampires were our enemies--they controlled our lives, isolated our cities, and demanded our blood--until I met Victor. With Victor taking over as the new Lord Valentine, things were supposed to get better. Instead, they're worse than ever.

Day Walkers, a new breed of vampires who can walk in the sun, are terrorizing the city. Blood supplies are low, and if Victor's vampires don't get enough, they will become infected with the Thirst--a disease that will turn them into mindless killers.

To stop it, I must journey across the desolate wasteland to the very place where the sickness began. I can only hope that the answers that await me are enough to save us all . . . before it's too late.
show more

Review quote

Praise for DARKNESS BEFORE DAWN: "J.A. London takes the reader into a vampire world different from most." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) Praise for DARKNESS BEFORE DAWN: "This new twist on the vampire genre is action-packed and full of plot turns. The main characters are compelling, and the love triangle...adds to the suspense and intrigue. A satisfying read with a cliff-hanger ending that leaves readers thirsty for more." -- School Library Journal
show more

About J. A. London

J. A. London is the mother-son writing team of Rachel Hawthorne and her son, Alex London. Rachel has written many novels for teens, including the popular Dark Guardian series. Alex, a recent graduate with a degree in Historical Studies, enjoys combining history and fiction to create unique worlds. The Darkness Before Dawn series is their first joint project.
show more

Rating details

4,874 ratings
4.08 out of 5 stars
5 39% (1,896)
4 36% (1,770)
3 20% (964)
2 4% (198)
1 1% (46)

Our customer reviews

4.5 stars Blood Kissed Sky is the second book in the Darkness Before Dawn series and it definitely was a fantastic sequel. I was disappointed to realise that Victor was going to be absent for a lot of this book, while Dawn goes to Los Angeles. And while I did really miss him, we got to see glimpses of him through dreams, and there was a lot going on with Dawn in LA to keep me glued to the pages. Dawn heads to LA, a city that is completely free of vampires, to find out how they are dealing with the Thirst. Also, that's where Sin said he came from, and while he may have been lying, Dawn hopes he wasn't and that she can also find out more about him and his day walkers. What she discovers in LA is truly terrifying. The attack on the teenagers at the Blood Drive in Darkness Before Dawn, is now being dubbed "Hell Night" and the terrible events of that night have taken their toll and I felt we see changes in the characters due to this. Dawn is tougher, and Michael and Tegan, realising the full extent of the danger now, appealed to me much more when they weren't constantly trying to talk Dawn into doing stupid, dangerous things. And Victor, in his role as the Lord of the Denver Vampires, is discovering that the position is more difficult than he previously thought, and it seems he may be harder on the humans than Dawn thought he was going to be. Questions I'd been pondering in the last book were answered here, and the twist at the end, wasn't completely unexpected. I'm really looking forward to After Daybreak where I think things are going to get a lot worse before they get better. I'm expecting a lot of action and anticipation and hopefully, lots of Victor too. With a release date for June, we don't have too long to wait. Thankfully, this hasn't been a long drawn out series.show more
by Suzanne Finnegan
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X