Blood of an Exile
17%
off

Blood of an Exile

4.13 (107 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

The first book in the Dragons of Terra series, Blood of an Exile features a life-changing mission for a death-defying adventurer . . . Welcome to Brian Naslund's spectacular, action-packed fantasy debut.

Sentenced to die. Impossible to kill.

Bershad was supposed to die. When he was caught attempting to assassinate a fellow noble, he was given the harshest sentence: a command to slay dragons, so his death might serve the kingdom. Yet for some reason he never lost a fight and is now the most successful dragon-slayer in history. However, as a doomed man Bershad is still shunned by his peers and his countrymen. But that could all change.

The king who sentenced Bershad has just given him a way out: kill a foreign monarch and walk free forever. His problem is that Bershad couldn't care less about the fates of kingdoms - until the dragon-slayer discovers he could save an innocent child in the process.

His mission might also save every creature in Terra.

'Dark and adventurous, brazenly cinematic . . . sure to win over dragon-loads of fantasy fans'
Sebastien de Castell

'Fans of Joe Abercrombie's First Law or Michael Sullivan's Riyria Revelations will love Brian Naslund's debut'
Django Wexler
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 416 pages
  • 162 x 242 x 42mm | 678g
  • Tor
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1529016126
  • 9781529016123
  • 573,876

Review quote

Blood of an Exile promises to be a well-done epic fantasy, complete with heroic battles, death-defying acts, and the continuation of a misunderstood hero's story -- Reviews & Robots An exhilarating and action-packed debut -- Novel Notions Naslund's debut wraps action, a mystery, and the environment into an impressively tight knot of classic fantasy -- Publishers Weekly Naslund succeeds in creating a page-turning, edge-of-your-seat read that breathes new (fiery) life into dragon mythology. Top-notch adventure fantasy - a stand-up-and-applaud debut -- Kirkus Reviews Blood of an Exile is a thrilling, action-packed rollercoaster ride of a dark fantasy debut and I devoured the four hundred plus pages in three days . . . a darkly-tinged mixture of John Gwynne's-Of Blood and Bone and Andrzej Sapkowski's The Witcher Saga -- Grimdark Magazine Exciting, epic and wonderfully told, full of subtle humour and laugh laugh-out-loud lines -- Angus Watson A page-turning, action-packed tale full of memorable characters, set within a world full of dragons . . . It doesn't get much cooler than this -- John Gwynne Part Game of Thrones, part super hero epic, Blood of an Exile is a cinematic fantasy whirlwind -- Sebastien de Castell I had a great time with Blood of an Exile - it's a fast, fun fantasy full of dragons and traitors, humor and bloody action. Fans of Joe Abercrombie's First Law or Michael Sullivan's Riyria Revelations will love Brian Naslund's debut -- Django Wexler
show more

About Brian Naslund

Brian is an American fantasy author based in Boulder, CO. Blood of an Exile is his debut novel, and the first in the Dragons of Terra series. He grew up in Maryland and studied English at Skidmore College in New York. Brian is now a product director for a tech company, and first started writing about dragons to escape the crushing boredom of his incredibly long bus commute. When he's not writing, he's usually griping about video games on Twitter, hiking with his dog, Lola, or whitewater kayaking in the mountains. The last activity makes his mother very nervous. Connect with him at briannaslund.com.
show more

Rating details

107 ratings
4.13 out of 5 stars
5 35% (37)
4 48% (51)
3 15% (16)
2 2% (2)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X