Blade & Rose

Blade & Rose

3.92 (2,874 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

She trusted him once. He betrayed her twice. A third time could bring an entire kingdom to its knees...



Stuck in a betrothal to a cruel werewolf fiancé, Rielle works for the Divinity of Magic, the one thing keeping her from his claws. And the head of the Divinity knows it, giving her every mission no one else wants and few can handle. When an enemy of the Divinity invades their walls, someone needs to frogmarch him home, with no detours. No mage would ever want to handle a magic-nullifying knight... So, of course Rielle is assigned to do it.

The way to their destination is rife with danger--a civil war is brewing, and tangled somewhere in it is Rielle's best friend, Olivia. When whispers reveal mercenaries have killed the king, taken the capital, and that no one is coming to help, Rielle can't leave Olivia in peril. But as infamous mages and deadly assassins hunt her holy knight charge, she can't leave him unprotected either--especially as she finds herself falling for his strength, his passion, and his uncompromising goodness...

Her past returns to haunt them, her werewolf fiancé stalks their steps, and an ancient evil is gathering, yet the restraints forbidding their love strain and snap one by one. Can they overcome the war in their way, or will trusting a two-faced ally tear them apart, and leave Olivia and an entire besieged kingdom to fray at the ends...?

Readers who loved A Court of Thorns and Roses and Game of Thrones will cheer on this heroine who never gives up, in the first book of a heart-wrenching romantic epic fantasy series.

Buy Blade & Rose and dive into a medieval world sensual and dark, full of magic and greed, love and blades, where factions vie for influence and there are no easy choices...
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 828 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 51mm | 1,374g
  • English
  • Illustrations
  • 1949932109
  • 9781949932102
  • 1,358,716

Review quote

"...[M]ultiple threads of a complex plot, forbidden romance, manipulative villains, and marvelous writing." --Fantasy-Faction.com

"Miranda Honfleur is extremely talented, you can tell it from her wonderful, eloquent descriptions, and all the effort she made to create a such an expanded and intricate world. The Mages, the Paladins, the ancient creatures, the noble houses, Miranda spread her wings wide and added so many aspects to her story, and she put them together in a way they fitted perfectly, like pieces of a puzzle. The werewolf lore, the power games, the medieval setting, the scheming and politics, the intense and various battle sequences, the vital part of magic and of Rielle's past, they co-existed harmonically and captured your interest and attention with a strong, magical grip." --Booknest.eu

"The magic system was interesting, the plot was layered and complex, and the writing was wonderful. If there were some flaws in the book, they were easily overlooked in favor of the interesting, character-driven plot. This is a solid start to a series that will likely find plenty of fans amongst those who enjoy romantic fantasy." --Bookworm Blues

"With a brilliant plot line and rich, exciting characters, and a very touching, beautiful, sensual, passionate and honest love story" --Amazon Reviewer

"The best part is the main female character, Rielle... No damsel in distress, she's a strong, smart, and reliable mage all on her own. She has flaws, but it makes her relatable. You cheer her on from start to finish." --Amazon Reviewer

"Honfleur sucks you into her vibrant and tumultuous world right away with unforgettable characters and a masterful plot that enthrall the reader to the very last page (and beyond)." --Amazon Reviewer

"Wonderful, detailed world-building and engaging, interesting characters set the stage for this intriguing fantasy story. Action, adventure, suspense, and intrigue - and plenty of twists and turns - kept me turning pages, fully immersed" --Amazon Reviewer

"What an excellent, exciting, gripping, spellbinding first book for this series." --Amazon Reviewer

"Sweeping fantasy with deeply human characters" --Amazon Reviewer
show more

Rating details

2,874 ratings
3.92 out of 5 stars
5 37% (1,065)
4 34% (964)
3 18% (508)
2 7% (212)
1 4% (125)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X