The Black Swan

The Black Swan : The Impact of the Highly Improbable

3.87 (56,604 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$67.01

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

A slipcased hardback edition of Nassim Nicholas Taleb's bestselling masterpiece, with the original first Penguin edition artwork.What have the invention of the wheel, Pompeii, the Wall Street Crash, Harry Potter and the internet got in common? Why are all forecasters con-artists? What can Catherine the Great's lovers tell us about probability? Why should you never run for a train or read a newspaper? This book is all about Black Swans: the random events that underlie our lives, from bestsellers to world disasters. Their impact is huge; they're impossible to predict; yet after they happen we always try to rationalize them. A rallying cry to ignore the 'experts', The Black Swan shows us how to stop trying to predict everything - and take advantage of uncertainty.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 480 pages
  • 164 x 244 x 44mm | 798.32g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • ALLEN LANE
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Rev. Ed.
  • 1846145651
  • 9781846145650
  • 308,484

Review quote

Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling -- Stephen J. Dubner, author of * Freakonomics * An idiosyncratically brilliant new book -- Niall Ferguson * Sunday Telegraph * A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected -- Larry Elliot * Guardian * Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling -- John Kay * Financial Times * Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot -- John Cornwell * Sunday Times * In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point * Time * Great fun ... brash, stubborn, entertaining, opinionated, curious, cajoling -- Stephen J. Dubner, author of * Freakonomics * An idiosyncratically brilliant new book -- Niall Ferguson * Sunday Telegraph * A fascinating study of how we are regularly taken for suckers by the unexpected -- Larry Elliot * Guardian * Like the conversation of a raconteur ... hugely enjoyable - compelling -- John Kay * Financial Times * Confirms his status as a guru for every would-be Damien Hirst, George Soros and aspirant despot -- John Cornwell * Sunday Times * In the tradition of The Wisdom of Crowds and The Tipping Point * Time *show more

About Nassim Nicholas Taleb

Nassim Nicholas Taleb is an uncompromizing no-nonsense thinker for our times. He has spent his life immersing himself in problems of luck, uncertainty, probability, and knowledge, and he has led three high-profile careers around his ideas, as a man of letters, as a businessman-trader, and as a university professor and researcher. He is currently Distinguished Professor of Risk Engineering at New York University's School of Engineering. He is the author of the 4-volume INCERTO (Antifragile, The Black Swan, Fooled by Randomness, and The Bed of Procrustes). Taleb refuses all awards and honours as they debase knowledge by turning it into competitive sports.show more

Rating details

56,604 ratings
3.87 out of 5 stars
5 33% (18,577)
4 35% (20,084)
3 22% (12,215)
2 7% (3,924)
1 3% (1,804)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X