Black Seeds

Black Seeds : The Poetry and Reflections of Tariq Toure

4.5 (44 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 15-20 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

"Tariq Touré is Baltimore's Black revolutionary voice. In the tradition of Amiri Baraka and James Baldwin, Touré masterfully uses his pen to attack white supremacy, expose systemic racism, and highlight the beauty that is the Black community. Touré doesn't hide behind his own articles, academia, social media or fake non profits-- no, Toure is one of the few real ones, he's in the street fighting for us, living what he pens and using a cocktail of activism and art to make the world a better place for all of us. Tariq Touré is our revolutionary voice and we are beyond proud of the way that he is representing us." D. Watkins, Author of "The Beastside: Living and Dying while Black in America" Tariq Touré has combined remnants of a childhood in West Baltimore, maturation and rhythm in a concisely riveting collection of poems. Along with the photography of Shannon Wallace and Kyle Pompey Touré grabs takes the reader on a walk through Baltimore and his deepest experiences.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 106 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 6mm | 109g
  • English
  • 1523264942
  • 9781523264940
  • 1,839,675

About Tariq Toure

Bio Tariq Touré is a Muslim Essayist and Poet. A native Baltimorean, Touré was a first team all state, all city athlete. Touré has been honored with the Real Men of Baltimore award by 92q jams radio station and the Alumni Excellence award by his Alma Mater Bowie State University. Since the 2008 Touré has professionally engaged in the mentoring of at-risk African American Males of all ages in Baltimore and Washington D.C. With a deep passion for the craft of writing, Touré uses prose as medium for shedding new light on issues such as social justice, racial inequality, black culture and Black Muslim narratives.
show more

Rating details

44 ratings
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 64% (28)
4 25% (11)
3 9% (4)
2 2% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X