Black Moon

Black Moon

3.17 (2,853 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$24.00

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

For fans of "The Age of Miracles" and "The Dog Stars," "Black Moon" is a hallucinatory and stunning debut that Charles Yu calls Gripping and expertly constructed.
Insomnia has claimed everyone Biggs knows. Even his beloved wife, Carolyn, has succumbed to the telltale red-rimmed eyes, slurred speech and cloudy mind before disappearing into the quickly collapsing world. Yet Biggs can still sleep, and dream, so he sets out to find her.
He ventures out into a world ransacked by mass confusion and desperation, where he meets others struggling against the tide of sleeplessness. Chase and his buddy Jordan are devising a scheme to live off their drug-store lootings; Lila is a high school student wandering the streets in an owl mask, no longer safe with her insomniac parents; Felicia abandons the sanctuary of a sleep research center to try to protect her family and perhaps reunite with Chase, an ex-boyfriend. All around, sleep has become an infinitely precious commodity. Money can t buy it, no drug can touch it, and there are those who would kill to have it. However, Biggs persists in his quest for Carolyn, finding a resolve and inner strength that he never knew he had.
Kenneth Calhoun has written a brilliantly realized and utterly riveting depiction of a world gripped by madness, one that is vivid, strange, and profoundly moving."
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 277 pages
  • 149 x 217 x 25mm | 454g
  • United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0804137145
  • 9780804137140
  • 1,484,535

Review quote

""Black Moon" is the kind of book I envy as a writer, and seek out as a reader--a novel of ideas wrapped in a gripping, expertly constructed story, full of feeling and intelligence." --Charles Yu, author of "How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe"
show more

About Kenneth Calhoun

KENNETH CALHOUN has had stories published in "The Paris Review, Tin House," and the "2011 Pen/O. Henry Prize Collection," among others. He lives in Boston, where he is a graphic design professor at Lasell College. "Black Moon" is his first novel.
show more

Rating details

2,853 ratings
3.17 out of 5 stars
5 9% (267)
4 27% (782)
3 39% (1,104)
2 20% (557)
1 5% (143)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X