The Bird and the Blade

The Bird and the Blade

4.06 (3,835 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author)  , Read by 
4.06 (3,835 ratings by Goodreads)
Free delivery worldwide Expected delivery to the United States in 9-12 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.
Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas Order now for expected delivery to the United States by Christmas

Description

A sweeping and tragic debut novel perfect for fans of The Wrath and the Dawn and Megan Whalen Turner. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.

The Bird and the Blade is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from author Megan Bannen.

Enslaved in Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom . . . until the kingdom is conquered by enemy forces and she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father across the vast Mongol Empire.

On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks' exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into an impossible love.

Jinghua's already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her hand--and if they fail, they die.

Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalaf's kingdom--and his very life--on the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what she's capable of . . . even if it means losing him to the girl who'd sooner take his life than his heart.
show more

Product details

  • 12-15
  • Hardback | 432 pages
  • 147 x 216 x 38mm | 454g
  • English
  • 0062674153
  • 9780062674159
  • 525,873

Review Text

"The Bird and the Blade is a tale filled with magic and mystery. It will entrance you from the first page. Meticulously researched and beautifully executed, this story will linger long after you have finished reading." #1 NYT bestselling author Renèe Ahdieh
show more

Review quote

"The Bird and the Blade is a tale filled with magic and mystery. It will entrance you from the first page. Meticulously researched and beautifully executed, this story will linger long after you have finished reading." -- #1 NYT bestselling author Renèe Ahdieh

★ "Lavish, sweeping, and powerful.... A must-read for fans of heart-wrenching, sob-your-heart-out YA." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A rich, imaginative tale that delivers thrilling characters, heartstopping action, and exciting intrigue with every turn of the page." -- Booklist

"At once haunting and compelling, this tale of love and loalty will wreck you. Exquisite from the first note to the last." -- Natalie C. Parker, author of Beware the Wild

"The Bird and the Blade has everything I want in a novel: vivid characters, sumptuous prose, romance, funny dialogue, and a sweeping storyline in an intricately researched world. This story will break your heart--but it will remake it, too." -- Rosalyn Eves, author of Blood Rose Rebellion

"Will leave readers in tears" -- School Library Journal

"A magical and tragic romantic adventure." -- Publishers Weekly

"Clever twists and narrative devices will make this novel a favorite." -- Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
show more

Rating details

3,835 ratings
4.06 out of 5 stars
5 39% (1,496)
4 37% (1,429)
3 17% (650)
2 5% (174)
1 2% (86)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X