The Big Sleep, Farewell, My Lovely, the High Window: Volume 1

The Big Sleep, Farewell, My Lovely, the High Window: Volume 1

By (author)  , Introduction by 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


Raymond Chandler's first three novels, published here in one volume, established his reputation as an unsurpassed master of hard-boiled detective fiction. The Big Sleep, Chandler's first novel, introduces Philip Marlowe, a private detective inhabiting the seamy side of Los Angeles in the 1930s, as he takes on a case involving a paralysed California millionaire, two psychotic daughters, blackmail and murder. In Farewell, My Lovely, Marlowe deals with the gambling circuit, a murder he stumbles upon, and three very beautiful but potentially deadly women. In The High Window, Marlowe searches the California underworld for a priceless gold coin and finds himself deep in the tangled affairs of a dead coin collector. In all three novels, Chandler's hard-edged prose, colourful characters, vivid vernacular, and, above all, his enigmatic loner of a hero, establish his enduring claim to the heights of his chosen more

Product details

  • Hardback | 696 pages
  • 136 x 210 x 38mm | 739.37g
  • Everyman
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1857152557
  • 9781857152555
  • 161,221