The Big Scrum
33%
off

The Big Scrum

3.52 (225 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

John J. Miller delivers the intriguing, never-before-told story of how Theodore Roosevelt saved American Football--a game that would become the nation's most popular sport. Miller's sweeping, novelistic retelling captures the violent, nearly lawless days of late 19th century football and the public outcry that would have ended the great game but for a crucial Presidential intervention. Teddy Roosevelt's championing of football led to the creation of the NCAA, the innovation of the forward pass, a vital collaboration between Walter Camp, Charles W. Eliot, John Heisman and others, and, ultimately, the creation of a new American pastime. Perfect for readers of Douglas Brinkley's Wilderness Warrior, Michael Lewis's The Blind Side, and Conn and Hal Iggulden's The Dangerous Book for Boys, Miller's The Big Scrum reclaims from the shadows of obscurity a remarkable story of one defining moment in our nation's history.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 258 pages
  • 132 x 198 x 18mm | 199.58g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • HarperCollins
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0061744522
  • 9780061744525
  • 1,735,013

Review quote

"Football enthusiassts and Theodore Roosevelt admirers will both enjoy and learn from these little-known but important historic events that preserved from extinction one of America's favorite sports."--Tweed Roosevelt, president of the Theodore Roosevelt Association
show more

Back cover copy

Football's first golden age was characterized by incredible violence and life-threatening danger, and the new sport's popularity grew even as the casualties rose. After dozens of players were killed in brutal incidents that rattled the national consciousness, a proto-progressive movement attempted to abolish the game.

At that critical moment, President Roosevelt, an outspoken advocate of "the strenuous life" and a longtime fan of the game, fought to preserve football's rugged essence. In 1905, Roosevelt summoned key football coaches to the White House for a historic meeting. The result was the establishment of the NCAA and a series of rule changes, including the advent of the forward pass, which not only saved the sport but transformed football into what it is today: the quintessential American game.
show more

Rating details

225 ratings
3.52 out of 5 stars
5 14% (31)
4 37% (84)
3 38% (86)
2 9% (21)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X