Beyond the Red
33%
off

Beyond the Red

3.76 (562 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Alien queen Kora has a problem as vast as the endless crimson deserts. She's the first female ruler of her territory in generations, but her people are rioting and call for her violent younger twin brother to take the throne. Despite assassination attempts, a mounting uprising of nomadic human rebels, and pressure to find a mate to help her rule, she's determined to protect her people from her brother's would-be tyrannical rule. Eros is a rebel soldier hated by aliens and human alike for being a half-blood. Yet that doesn't stop him from defending his people, at least until Kora's soldiers raze his camp and take him captive. He's given an ultimatum: be an enslaved bodyguard to Kora, or be executed for his true identity--a secret kept even from him. When Kora and Eros are framed for the attempted assassination of her betrothed, they flee. Their only chance of survival is to turn themselves in to the high court, where revealing Eros's secret could mean a swift public execution. But when they uncover a violent plot to end the human insurgency, they must find a way to work together to prevent genocide.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 360 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 33.02mm | 454g
  • Skyhorse Publishing
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • 1634506448
  • 9781634506441
  • 461,782

About Ava Jae

Ava Jae is an author, blogger, YouTuber, college student, and assistant editor at Entangled Publishing. After graduating from the University of Michigan with a BA in English in April 2016, Ava will probably find a bookstore to live in, where she can write her next novel surrounded by the smell of new books and coffee. She can be found on Twitter at @Ava_Jae or at her website avajae.blogspot.com. She resides in Ann Arbor, Michigan.show more

Review quote

"Kora is the first female ruler of the Sepharon in generations, but her ambitious twin brother, Dima, wants to rule in her stead. To that end, he is willing to do anything, including framing Kora for an assassination attempt on her fiance, Serek. Meanwhile, Kora has taken as bodyguard and confidant the half blood Eros, whose mixed race makes him a pariah among both the nomadic human rebels of the planet and the citydwelling alien Sepharon, a tall, strong humanoid race with patterned skin, notched ears, and purple blood. In alternating chapters narrated by Eros and Kora, Jae spins a cinematic tale of forbidden love and Machiavellian politics. With detailed history, architecture, customs, inventions, and landscape, Jae creates a fascinating new world to explore. The breathless pace of the plot, smoldering romance between Kora and Eros, and inventive yet comfortably familiar world will engage science fiction and romance readers alike. A true cliff-hanger ending guarantees a sequel. Blogger and college student Jae has laid the groundwork for an entertaining series." --Booklist "Jae's debut novel introduces a unique alien world with a thrilling plot full of twists that are bound to appeal to sci-fi fans, particularly admirers of Avatar and Star Wars. The fast-paced and intense plotlines introduce deep concepts including segregation, homosexuality, and racism; however, the concepts and characters are not fully developed. The author builds a beautifully conceived world with unique details, such as language quirks, an alien monarch ruling system, and special meaning for phrases such as "golden eyes." The fun and engaging plot is predictable but enjoyable. VERDICT: An engaging and amusing read for fans of sci-fi romance." -- School Library Journal "Jae's smooth worldbuilding and solid pacing make this a highly readable SF romance. Jae engages with the brutality of her setting and doesn't spare the central characters, who suffer terrible losses." --Publishers Weekly "Ava Jae's Beyond the Red is a sand-swept fantasy of court politics, rebel attacks, and forbidden romance. While reading, I had flashes of Star Wars--a new planet, a fascinating culture, a fresh look on a ruler struggling to keep her power--and I had to know what happened next. Dangerous, exciting, and fast-paced, Beyond the Red is a story not to be missed." --Francesca Zappia, author of Made You Up "Packed with political intrigue and smoldering romance, Beyond the Red left me craving more of Kora's and Eros's story and the unique, fascinating universe that Ava Jae has created." --Sarah Harian, author of The Wicked We Have Done "Beyond the Red is a sweeping, compelling romance in a complicated and gritty world. Intrigue and heart on every page--I couldn't put it down. I'll be following Ava Jae to see what comes next!" --Kate Brauning, author of How We Fall "I loved this book! I couldn't put it down! What a fantastic debut, perfect for fans of Firefly and Star Wars. Ava Jae's Beyond the Red packs a punch, a total thrill ride that will keep readers turning the pages. I stayed up all night reading it. From page one, I was sucked in. Jae's writing style is a perfect mix of stop and go, and her world comes to life within the first few pages. The action was power-packed, and the star-crossed romance had me begging for more by the end." --Lindsay Cummings, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Zenith "Ava Jae has built such an interesting world in Beyond the Red. With forbidden romance, gritty action, and thrilling danger, this debut is one to watch. And here's hoping for a sequel!" --S. E. Green, award-winning author of the Killer Instinct series "I loved Beyond the Red! Ava Jae's science fiction world-building is a perfect blend of a fantastic, foreign alien civilization and achingly human desires all packed into an explosive mix. I couldn't help but root for crafty Kora as she navigated court politics, revolutions, and dangerous secrets. And Eros! His determination balanced with a sense of humor about his fate made him such a swoon-worthy love interest. The action started swiftly and didn't let up. I can't wait to read more from Jae!" --Lindsay Smith, author of Sekret and Dreamstrider "A thrilling blend of science fiction and fantasy, Beyond the Red sketches out an exciting new world full of romance and intrigue. I can't wait for future installments!" --Kat Zhang, author of the Hybrid Chronicles seriesshow more

Rating details

562 ratings
3.76 out of 5 stars
5 34% (192)
4 29% (161)
3 22% (123)
2 10% (57)
1 5% (29)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X