Beyond the River Bend

Beyond the River Bend

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

CT Barton is a young child living in the isolated Red River Valley of Texas. Born in a small log cabin, his limited reality is filled with living off the land, sharecropping, and no friends outside of his humble mother and father. At the age of five, with his mind filled with dreams about the unknown world around him, CT finally ventures into nearby Dennison, Texas, with his father, only to have his world shattered by the bigotry and cruelty of the residents. Shunned as "white trash," CT vows to become more than just a sharecropper's son. He pursues an education as a way out of the river bottom, yet faces steep challenges every step of the way. And as the Great Depression and then World War II all but overwhelm his dreams, he pushes forward with an unwavering determination to see his visions become a reality. For fans of John Steinbeck, "Beyond the River Bend" is a fictional story based on the life of author Phillip C. Holland's father, detailing the pain and struggle he endured in a bygone era while pursuing the desires of his heart.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 218 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 12mm | 299g
  • Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • United States
  • English
  • black & white illustrations
  • 1514691728
  • 9781514691724

About Phillip C Holland

Phillip C. Holland has had the good fortune to be able to travel to most of the United States and see the many lifestyles our great country has to offer. Those experiences caused him to look at our society with an open mind, and he used that insight to fuel his writing of "Beyond the River Bend" about his father's efforts to change his culture.show more