Beyond the Eight Foot World

Beyond the Eight Foot World

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Burning alive, twenty four year old husband, father and chemical engineer, Albert Plevier, crawls backward as he fights he way through an onslaught of concentrated liquid sodium hydroxide. Hundreds of gallons of the hot, caustic chemical, forcefully propelled by a gas powered motor, begin to melt and blind the man responsible for its creation. The journey of Albert's choice to live, while he traveled to heaven in a near death experience, begins in Book I of the The Albert Plevier Trilogy, "Beyond the Eight Foot World." This first installment of the series chronicles the remarkable, true, inspirational story about a man whose life changed forever in an instant. A young man who thought he had left the hardest parts of his life behind him on the streets of Paterson NJ as a fatherless little boy, loses all the materialistic things he had worked so hard for and is left with only the love of his wife and extended family. The series chronicles the love story that strengthens through survival, perseverance, dignity and humor. You will find yourself cheering for our hero, Albert Plevier and his family through each installment of our series. Albert Plevier's journey into the eight foot world of the blind began on October 1, 1974 when he stood frozen in shock, disbelief and fear as concentrated sodium hydroxide spiraled toward his unprotected face and upper body. Time stopped and then it hit. The liquid powered by the motor churned this caustic chemical turning his feet into springs. Suddenly, this father, husband and chemical engineer was blown back onto his left side and positioned between two metal drums and a pipe vise. The force of the liquid kept him pinned. He was burning, he was melting and the chemical enacting its revenge. It was dissolving the very man whose job description required him to dissolve it. During the initial accident he died, visited heaven and was told he must return to finish the work he still had to do. Despite the extreme pain he had to endure, he fought his way through the physicality of his situation to reclaim his life. One week later he woke up disoriented in his hospital bed as he began to regain periods of consciousness. He couldn't understand why, in his dreams, the coat he tried to pull tight around him could not stop the biting wind that cut through it. It pricked him, feeling first like hot needles and then indescribable pain. He could smell his burning flesh, while the horror jolted him from his drug induced oblivion. He heard himself scream and could not stop until more pain medication took effect. "Beyond the Eight Foot World" is followed by "See Saw" Book II of our series that follows the family's joy at the return of Albert's sight twice, the completion of their family unit to include four boys, the strengthening of faith through the recollection of his near death experience, and their recovery together as they are plunged into darkness permanently to save his life. The couple relies on their faith to navigate the logistics of a lawsuit with all its mundane, frustrating and humiliating aspects. The young couple decide that they will continue the trajectory they chose for their family when they married regardless of the circumstances they were now immersed in. "Changing Tides," Book III of the series stands as proof to the larger world, how one man and the love of his life, choose to embrace life fully. Albert's life stands as testament that you either lay down and die or you keep going with joyful intent. The young family move to the Jersey Shore to continue raising their family he becomes known locally as the blind baseball coach, inspiring children and adults by living through example. The shared love of baseball becomes the thread of the young families existence, traced back to his Paterson stick ball days. In recollection Al realizes this thread was the connection to who he was, who he became and how he moved through the changes of his life.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 286 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 18mm | 454g
  • Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 1508423040
  • 9781508423041