Beware That Girl
20%
off

Beware That Girl

3.39 (1,848 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas Not expected to be delivered to the United States by Christmas

Description

For fans of We Were Liars, Gone Girl, and The Girl on the Train comes a powerful psychological thriller with a gripping pace and Hitchcockian twists. Set against the backdrop of New York City, this compelling novel delves into the dysfunctional yet mesmerizing world of the mega-wealthy elite and will keep readers guessing until the very last page. The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O'Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she's had to snake her way out of--some more sinister than others. But she's determined to change all that. She's book-smart. She's street-smart. And she's also a masterful liar. As the scholarship student at the elite Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ranks and land a spot at Yale. She's already found her "people" among the senior-class "it" girls--specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she's always needed, the sister she never had. When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration as head of fund-raising, he immediately charms his way into the faculty's and students' lives, becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she's intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can't reveal--and can't afford to ignore. Mark has his own plan for a bright future and never doubts that he can pull it off. How close can Kate and Olivia get to him without having to share their dark pasts? "Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl." --PW "It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable." --Quill & Quire, Starredshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 319 pages
  • 164 x 241 x 29mm | 658g
  • Delacorte Press
  • English
  • 0553507907
  • 9780553507904
  • 1,521,834

Review quote

"Combines a Gossip Girl milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of Gone Girl."--PW "Has all the makings of a crossover hit. It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable."--Quill & Quire, STARRED "A sharp narative whose twists will demand an instant reread. Beware That Girl is a terrifying chess game, and Toten is the ultimate player."--National Reading Campaign (Canada) "A tense teen thriller."--Kirkus "The author skillfully reveals gritty and tantalizing details in meager bites, keeping readers captivated. A must-have for teen fans of psychological thrillers such as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl."--SLJ "A solid page-turner with two compelling main characters. Readers will be absorbed by this gripping, sometimes disturbing drama."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Booksshow more

About Teresa Toten

TERESA TOTEN is the author of Beware That Girl; The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, winner of the Governor General's Literary Award in Canada; The Game; The Onlyhouse; and, with Eric Walters, The Taming. She is also the author of the acclaimed Blondes series. Teresa lives in Toronto. Visit her online at teresatoten.com and on Facebook, and follow @TTotenAuthor on Twitter.show more

Rating details

1,848 ratings
3.39 out of 5 stars
5 14% (266)
4 32% (597)
3 36% (657)
2 14% (253)
1 4% (75)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X