Beware That Girl
20%
off

Beware That Girl

3.41 (1,469 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

For fans of Gossip Girl and Pretty Little Liars comes a tense thriller of secrets, lies and obsession. Kate O'Brien has always been known as the scholarship kid, running away from a terrible past and overcoming obstacles, some more sinister than others. She's determined to make a better life for herself. She deserves it. And at the elite Waverly school, Kate is willing to do whatever it takes to climb the social ladder and land her spot at Yale. There's one girl in particular who catches Kate's eye. Olivia Michelle Sumner, all born blonde and rich and just messed up enough for Kate to latch on to. As for Olivia, she's a damaged girl, looking to be mended. She finds something promising in Kate. A study buddy. A best friend. A sister she never had. But even a vulnerable girl like Olivia has her own dark past to contend with. When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he manages to woo the whole student body, paying particular attention to Olivia - an affair she very much wants to keep to herself, especially from Kate.And as a man who knows just how to get what he wants, Kate realises that Mark poses a huge threat, in more ways than she is willing to admit. A deeply twisted YA novel that will have you guessing until the very last line.show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 336 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 20mm | 268g
  • Hot Key Books
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 1471406393
  • 9781471406393
  • 343,778

Review quote

Combines a "Gossip Girl "milieu with the unsettled psychological terrain of "Gone Girl. Publishers Weekly Has all the makings of a crossover hit. It's smart, dark, entertaining, and unpredictable. -- starred review Quill & Quire A sharp narative whose twists will demand an instant reread. "Beware That Girl "is a terrifying chess game, and Toten is the ultimate player. National Reading Campaign (Canada) A tense teen thriller. Kirkus The author skillfully reveals gritty and tantalizing details in meager bites, keeping readers captivated. A must-have for teen fans of psychological thrillers such as Gillian Flynn's Gone Girl. SLJ A solid page-turner with two compelling main characters. Readers will be absorbed by this gripping, sometimes disturbing drama. The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books So I just finished this book with a scrunched up smirk on my face. You know the one? The one that means it was more than good. Beware That Girl is clever, twisted, dark and dangerous. It's secretive, frustrating, obsessive, disillusioned and utterly captivating. It's original and feisty and to be fair does upset you at times as there is a dark, sensitive and in-depth underlining to the plot throughout the read that will definitely shock you. Which has been written with respect and care which I appreciate when faced with what can be an uncomfortable part of a book. This is one fantastic read!A book that leaves you dangling by a thread over the wealthy New York skyline waiting for you to drop deep fast and hard to your death. Fabulous! The Book Geek Wears Pajamas The tension in this psychological thriller builds very quickly...watch out for the film version coming very soon... Daily Mailshow more

About Teresa Toten

Teresa Toten won the Governor General's Literary Award in Canada for The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B. She is the author of the acclaimed Blondes series, as well as The Game, The Onlyhouse, and, with Eric Walters, The Taming.Teresa lives in Toronto. Visit her online at teresatoten.com and on Facebook, and follow @TTotenAuthor on Twitter.show more

Rating details

1,469 ratings
3.41 out of 5 stars
5 15% (218)
4 33% (485)
3 35% (512)
2 14% (200)
1 4% (54)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X