Between Here and Forever
12%
off

Between Here and Forever

3.73 (6,108 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

A romantic but dark coming-of-age teen novel by the author of Perfect You and Living Dead Girl.show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 256 pages
  • 148 x 212 x 26mm | 358.34g
  • SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • New York, NY, United States
  • English
  • f-c jacket w- no SFX - matte film
  • 141699484X
  • 9781416994848
  • 370,570

Review quote

"Compulsively readable, this novel will appeal to fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman." --SLJshow more

Our customer reviews

Abbey has a plan. Caring and ambitious sister that she is, Abbey wants to win the beautiful boy she's seen in the hospital to help her wake up her sister Tess out of a coma - and that's what the story is mostly about. That boy is Eli. He is the perfect candidate to make every girl's dreams come true. He is charming and selfless. Now Abbey wants him to flirt with Tess and bring her back. But of course her plan doesn't work out as it should. And Eli is falling for her instead of Tess just as Abbey can't deny her feelings for Eli. All the time we've got an unwanted- quite bothersome-kind of love triangle between the three of them. Tess' ghost always floating above their heads and Abbey refusing to acknowledge her true feelings. Tess is a difficult character and although she isn't really present, she's still there all the time, influencing Abbey's moves. What we learn about Tess in the course of BETWEEN HERE AND FOREVER is a complicated story, a mixture of lies, secrets, sadness and wrong intentions. And then Eli's got issues himself that make him insecure about his every move. So with their individual problems combined, his and Abbey's relationship isn't as easy as it should be. They are two very interesting characters and I really liked to see them growing closer with each heart-warming talk. THE VERDICT BETWEEN HERE AND FOREVER- A slightly romantic and thoughtful read about finding love and learning lessons in the most unexpected place and time.show more
by MissPageTurner
Abby is 17 years old, and her sister Tess is in coma. She has been since New Year's Day when she had an accident. Tess was always perfect. She's even perfect now, beautiful. Abby is nothing like her, and she's tired of being compared to her. She wants her to wake up, but not because she miss her, but because if she doesn't, Abby will be forced to stay on her shadow. When Abby met a gorgeous boy who works at the hospital, she thinks he will be able to wake Tess. She always liked boys as him, handsome and beautiful. Of course, Abby doesn't know that Tess had a lot of secrets... Abby is very insecure. She always felt she was on her sister's shadow, and she doesn't think she can be more than her, so when she met Eli she's sure he's going to fall for Tess. I'm not really sure why Abby felt that way. It was obvious Tess wasn't perfect...actually she was very mean, dramatic and kind of spoiled; but their parents never did anything for Abby to think that way. Eli is an excellent character, and I was really surprised by him. He's more than beautiful, and not only physically. But he's very shy. Obviously his life isn't as great as Abby thinks, and I was glad he wasn't perfect. Abby and Eli are a sweet couple. Abby is very immature sometimes, and Eli is trying really hard to be with her; and I was glad when they were finally together. I'm sure they can help each other. I can't tell you about Tess and her secrets, but even in coma, she was an intense character. She was very mean in the past but I still felt sad for her and her life, which she apparently never enjoyed. Overall, Between Here and Forever is a heartwarming story about love for the others and for yourself. It's the first book from Elizabeth Scott I read, but it will not be the last.show more
by Maria Guajardo (GABY)
My short take: Abby is 17 years old and her 20-year-old sister Tess is in a coma from a New Year's Day car accident. Abby visits her every day, but it seems to be less out of sisterly love than more like, "You have to wake up, because I'm tired of being compared to you and coming up short. When you're awake, no one pays attention to me and I like it that way." When a gorgeous guy who works at the hospital happens to be in Tess's room, Abby swears that she sees Tess respond when he speaks, so she asks him to start visiting Tess with her in hopes of Tess waking, seeing Eli, and wanting to stay awake to be with him. As Abby gets to know him, she finds out that he has OCD. There are things that Abby doesn't know about Tess, and these secrets begin to come out as Abby questions the whys of Tess's unpredictable behavior, including dropping her best friend like a hot potato and refusing to speak to her .. ever .. after the best friend became pregnant in high school. I liked the story a lot; there's quite a bit of irreverent humor, and Eli comes across as a sweetie. But .. Abby .. she is too insecure for words. She doesn't think ANYthing of herself, and there's no apparent reason for it. She has loving parents and a decent home, but she browbeats herself into nothingness. I guess I don't have a soft spot for totally weak protagonists, and I just wanted to reach into the pages and smack some sense into her, so that brought my rating down a bit. QUOTE (from a galley; may be different in final copy): Clement laughs so hard he chokes on his coughdrop, causing the reception area people to come running with water and offers of Help. Sometimes I think he gave more money to the hospital than even rumor says, because normally the people at reception don't and won't move unless someone's bleeding all over the place. Or if it's time for their breaks. Book Rating: 3.5 out of 5 starsshow more
by Julie Smith
Reviewed on my blog, the Vintage Bookworm. (http://www.vintagebookworm.blogspot.com) Between Here and Forever was a bit different. This is the second book I've read by her, and I have to say she is a fantastic writer. I didn't like this one as much as I loved the other novel I read by her, Perfect You, but it was really good. Abby kind of annoyed me. A lot. But at the same time I really liked her. I loved how devoted to her sister was and how much she wanted her to wake up. But she did it all for the wrong reasons! Which I won't get into. I LOVED Eli! Abby and him are perfect for each other! I love the relationship they have in this book and I love how Eli helps her deal with Tess and helps her grow by the end of the book, and she helps Eli grow as well! I also love Clement! The situation with Claire and Tess was a great addition to the book, though I kind of guessed about them after a little while. This book was a pretty light and fast read, which I loved. I was able to read it within a couple of days, if I was able to sit there for a bit I would of been able to finish it in one day. The chapters were short. The ending really made me want to know more, it almost didn't seem like a standalone novel. Elizabeth's writing really keeps you reading and wanting to know more after each chapter. I'm not really sure of what to write about this book. I seem lost for words for reviews lately. Overall, I really liked this book. There were a few things that really irked me, but not enough to make me give it a bad review. Elizabeth Scott is a really good writer and I plan on reading more of her books soon.show more
by Amanda
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X