The Best Man
7%
off

The Best Man

3.99 (2,543 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Newbery Medalist Richard Peck tells a story of small-town life, gay marriage, and everyday heroes in this novel for fans of Gary Schmidt and Jack Gantos. Archer Magill has spent a lively five years of grade school with one eye out in search of grown-up role models. Three of the best are his grandpa, the great architect; his dad, the great vintage car customizer; and his uncle Paul, who is just plain great. These are the three he wants to be. Along the way he finds a fourth--Mr. McLeod, a teacher. In fact, the first male teacher in the history of the school. But now here comes middle school and puberty. Change. Archer wonders how much change has to happen before his voice does. He doesn't see too far ahead, so every day or so a startling revelation breaks over him. Then a really big one when he's the best man at the wedding of two of his role models. But that gets ahead of the story. In pages that ripple with laughter, there's a teardrop here and there. And more than a few insights about the bewildering world of adults, made by a boy on his way to being the best man he can be. Boston Globe Horn Honor Book
Amazon Editors' Picks for Fall (Ages 9-12)
New York Times Notable Children's Book
Horn Book Fanfare
School Library Journal Best Books of 2016
Kirkus Best Books of 2016
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2016
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 232 pages
  • 127 x 193 x 18mm | 113g
  • Puffin Books
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 0147515793
  • 9780147515797
  • 16,361

Review quote

Praise for The Best Man
Autumn 2016 Kids' Indie Next List -- "Inspired Recommendations for Kids from Indie Booksellers":
Amazon Editors Picks for Fall (Ages 9-12)
New York TimesNotable Children's Book
Horn BookFanfare
School Library JournalBest Books of 2016
KirkusBest Books of 2016
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2016
Peck is at heart a gentle realist, a keen observer of family dynamics who uses the soft power of understated emotion to tack social issues. His latest middle grade novel, The Best Manis . . .a reminder that no matter your gender or sexuality, love is love is love. New York Times Book Review

* "A nostalgic slice of Rockwell Americana with a contemporary filling. Delicious take a bite." Kirkus Reviews, starred review
* "An indelible portrait of what it looks like to grow up in an age of viral videos and media frenzies, undergirded by the same powerful sense of family that characterizes so much of Peck's work." Publishers Weekly, starred review
* "Rise and toastThe Best Man. . . We're not done needing books like this.Comic, easy to read, swiftly paced, and matter-of-fact, Peck's latest steps out to lead the way." Horn Book, starred review
* "A witty, engaging novel from a master storyteller." Booklist, starred review
* The Newbery Award winning [Richard Peck] explores what it means to love and what it means to be a man. A modern, funny, and realistic tale featuring strong, nuanced, and unforgettable characters . . . Essential. School Library Journal, starred review
Sweet The award-winning Peck has often written from the past, but here he applies his humor and humanity to the present, where it is so sorely needed. San Francisco Chronicle
Author Richard Peck relates the years between the weddings with his signature humor, using the intimacy of the first-person point of view to provide Archer s take on his world
sometimes clueless, always earnest as he grows up and seeks role models [An] endearing, full-of-life story. BookPage, Top Pick Review
Insightful and witty There's plenty of homespun wisdom here, but no hint of preaching Peck's wandering, anecdote-rich narrative is set in Chicago, and told in the dryly funny voice
of an immensely likable, if slightly oblivious boy named Archer Magill A modern-day delight with a satisfyingly old-fashioned feel. Shelf Awareness
One of myfavorite books of Septemberfor middle graders is Richard Peck'sThe Best Man There is lots of humor and wisdom inThe Best Man,
and to me it embodies what I want most for my child--to be caring, compassionate, and let the best of you shine through. Seira Wilson, Amazon Books"
show more

About Richard Peck

Richard Peck has won almost every children's fiction award, including the Margaret A. Edwards Award, the Newbery Medal, the Scott O'Dell Award, and the Edgar, and he has twice been nominated for a National Book Award. He was the first children's author ever to have been awarded a National Humanities Medal. He lives in New York City. From the Hardcover edition.
show more

Rating details

2,543 ratings
3.99 out of 5 stars
5 32% (818)
4 43% (1,085)
3 19% (489)
2 4% (107)
1 2% (44)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X