The Best Friend
13%
off

The Best Friend

By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 8-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

'The most complex of bonds is explored in this startlingly original and finely drawn portrait of female friendship, with all its uplifting and destructive intensity'
ELLERY LLOYD

'An absolute jewel of a book which puts seven decades of complicated female friendship under the microscope - and reveals dark truths. It's a masterclass in things unsaid, in both form and content'
ERIN KELLY

An unsettling, gripping and original novel by Jessica Fellowes, author of the internationally bestselling, award-winning Mitford Murders series, telling the story of a toxic friendship.

Kate and Bella, Bella and Kate. From childhood they were inseparable yet polar opposites: Bella sensible and cautious, Kate gregarious and just a little dangerous.

Then men came into their lives and things changed: a black seed was set in in the heart of their relationship. Over decades, acts of both cruelty and love feed that seed until one shocking event leads to further tragedy. Neither will escape unscathed.

In her first standalone novel, Jessica Fellowes explores the darkest corners of female friendship, a place where loyalty and betrayal become one.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 320 pages
  • 142 x 226 x 30mm | 420g
  • Sphere
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0751583952
  • 9780751583953
  • 59,001

Review Text

An absolute jewel of a book which puts seven decades of complicated female friendship under the microscope - and reveals dark truths. It's a masterclass in things unsaid, in both form and content.
show more

Review quote

The most complex of bonds is explored in this startlingly original and finely drawn portrait of female friendship, with all its uplifting and destructive intensity * Ellery Lloyd * An absolute jewel of a book which puts seven decades of complicated female friendship under the microscope - and reveals dark truths. It's a masterclass in things unsaid, in both form and content. * Erin Kelly * Straight-from-life characters and knife-sharp insight into the ties that bind us. The best book on female friendship I have ever read * Celia Walden * An absorbing tale of the intricate tangle of friendship, both dark and human * Alexandra Shulman * Searing domestic noir. Fellowes paints an unflinching portrait of female friendship that should appeal to fans of Julie Mayhew and Leila Slimani * Publishers Weekly *
show more

About Jessica Fellowes

Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker. Her bestselling The Mitford Murders series has been nominated for awards in Britain, France, Germany and Italy, and sold into eighteen territories. Jessica is also the author of five official companion books to Downton Abbey, various of which hit the New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller lists. She has written short stories for Vogue Italia and L'Uomo Vogue, and made numerous appearances on radio, podcasts and television. She lives in Oxfordshire with her family.

www.jessicafellowes.com

Twitter: @jessicafellowes
Instagram: @author_jessicafellowes
show more