The Beloved Dead

The Beloved Dead

3.84 (92 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$26.99

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Malgwyn ap Cuneglas was one of King Arthur's earliest companions and now is his most trusted counsellor. Despite the malice of his enemies, and the machinations of the still powerful druids who mightily resist him, Malgwyn knows that Arthur will stop at nothing in his efforts to lead his people to Christ and help to bring civil law and justice to a people who have known little such. To consolidate his power, Arthur decides that it is time to take a noble wife. But in this Malgwyn knows his lord's sorrow, for Arthur must set aside his love, Guinevere, because he believes that the scandal surrounding their affair has tainted her for the crown. Malgwyn is sent north to fetch the young woman who is to be Arthur's bride. The way is fraught with tension for there are forces who would not see the king wed. Malgwyn discovers a string of killings of young virginal women who are slaughtered in a horrific manner - not unlike a ritual sacrifice - and is left with a question that he must answer quickly. Are these murders portents of the gods taking vengeance on the intrusion of a new faith? Or are mortal men plotting to unseat the king?
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 384 pages
  • 144.78 x 210.82 x 35.56mm | 498.95g
  • St Martin's Press
  • FORGE
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0765326280
  • 9780765326287
  • 1,009,284

About Tony Hays

"The Beloved Dead" is Tony Hays's third book in his much acclaimed Arthurian mystery series. Hays is a former journalist who has covered topics as varied as narcotics trafficking (earning his newspaper the Tennessee Press Association award for Public Service in 2000), political corruption, Civil War history, and the war on terror. He currently resides in Tennessee.
show more

Review quote

"Medieval mystery fans and readers who enjoy Peter Tremayne, Cora Harrison, and Bernard Cornwell will love this."--"Library Journal," ""starred review on "The Divine Sacrifice" "This heady concoction of suspense and legend will appeal to a broad cross-section of historical-fiction and whodunit fans."--"Booklist "on" The Divine Sacrifice""Sure to appeal to fans of medieval intrigues and stirring battles."--"Kirkus Reviews "on" The Divine Sacrifice""Political intrigue and ancient superstition loom large in this excellent mystery...History buffs as well as mystery fans will be amply rewarded."--"Publishers Weekly," starred review on "The Killing Way"
show more

Rating details

92 ratings
3.84 out of 5 stars
5 24% (22)
4 43% (40)
3 27% (25)
2 4% (4)
1 1% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X