A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

A Beginner's Guide To Acting English

3.89 (1,295 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$22.95

Currently unavailable

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

In the tradition of Nancy Mitford's The Pursuit of Love and Gerald Durrell's My Family and Other Animals, comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her eccentric family. But rather than landed gentry or bohemian travellers, it's a mad extended Iran clan who flee Tehran to 1980s Britain after the fall the Shah.

Five year old Shappi and her beloved brother Peyvand arrive with their parents in London - all cold weather and strange food - without a word of English. If adapting to a new culture isn't troubling enough, it soon becomes clear that the Ayatollah's henchmen are in pursuit. With the help of MI5, Shappi's family go into hiding. So apart from checking under the family car for bombs every morning, Shappi's childhood is like any other kids - swings in the park, school plays, kiss-chase and terrorists.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 320 pages
  • 136 x 215 x 23mm | 348g
  • Ebury Press
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0091922925
  • 9780091922924
  • 383,610

Review Text

"Britain's best young female comic by any yardstick"
show more

Review quote

"Britain's best young female comic by any yardstick" * Guardian * "[Shappi] has a fascinating story to tell, married to one of the warmest, most engaging performance styles I have seen" * Observer *
show more

About Shappi Khorsandi

Shappi Khorsandi was born in 1973 in Tehran and moved to London with her family in 1976 who were exiled after the revolution of 1979. She studied drama at university and has now been a stand-up for over ten years. She has performed all over the world including her annual sell-out run at the Edinburgh festival. She has appeared on countless radio and television programmes including Just a Minute, The News Quiz, The Now Show, Mock the Week, Live at the Apollo, Question Time and Newsnight Review.

She lives in West London with her husband and son.
show more

Rating details

1,295 ratings
3.89 out of 5 stars
5 28% (368)
4 40% (523)
3 25% (322)
2 4% (58)
1 2% (24)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X