Before She Ignites
20%
off

Before She Ignites

3.72 (306 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

"A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn't put it down!" -C. J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow QueenFrom the New York Times bestselling co-author of My Lady Jane comes a smoldering new fantasy trilogy perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Kristin Cashore about a girl condemned for defending dragons and the inner fire that may be her only chance of escape. Mira has always been a symbol of hope for the Fallen Isles, perfect and beautiful-or at least that's how she's forced to appear. But when she uncovers a dangerous secret, Mira is betrayed by those closest to her and sentenced to the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. Except Mira is over being a pawn. Fighting to survive against outer threats and inner demons of mental illness, Mira must find her inner fire and the scorching truth about her own endangered magic-before her very world collapses. And that's all before she ignites.show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 496 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 38mm | 543g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Inc
  • KATHERINE TEGEN BOOKS
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • 0062469401
  • 9780062469403
  • 9,505

Review quote

"In this first of the Fallen Isles Trilogy, Meadows sows the seeds for an exciting follow-up and creates a rich, vivid world with characters who blossom on the page.... A page-turner that promises future intrigue, special powers, and dragon adventures." -- Kirkus Reviews "Meadows portrays acutely Mira's insecurities about not living up to the demands of her station or to her mother's expectations...while exploring issues of inclusivity and discrimination. Fans of Naomi Novik's Temeraire series or Julie Kagawa's Talon books will be delighted." -- Publishers Weekly "The complex political system is compellingly built, and Mira's characterization is admirable. Hand to fans of rich world building-and, of course, fans of dragons." -- ALA Booklist "...fast-paced, with surprising twists and turns. This richly written fantasy-the first in a trilogy-will keep readers asking whom to trust and wondering what's true." -- School Library Journal "Do not walk, run to get this book, so you can devour it like I did! Mira is a fascinating and flawed heroine who tilts the world on its side. I loved her and this fiercely imagined world. Jodi Meadows is a genius." -- Mary Pearson, New York Times bestselling author of The Remnant Chronicles "A fully realized fantasy world complete with dragons, treachery, and flawed characters discovering their courage. I couldn't put it down!" -- C .J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen "Complex world-building and luminous storytelling. Mira will sear a mark on your heart long after the final page is consumed." -- Stacey Lee, award-winning author of Outrun the Moonshow more

About Jodi Meadows

Jodi Meadows wants to be a ferret when she grows up and she has no self-control when it comes to yarn, ink, or outer space. Still, she manages to write books. She is the author of the Incarnate trilogy, the Orphan Queen duology, and the Fallen Isles trilogy and coauthor of the New York Times bestseller My Lady Jane. Visit her at www.jodimeadows.com.show more

Rating details

306 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 37% (112)
4 25% (78)
3 20% (62)
2 9% (27)
1 9% (27)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X