3.46 (15 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Combining musical insight with the most recent research, William Kinderman's Beethoven is both a richly drawn portrait of the man and a guide to his music. Kinderman traces the composer's intellectual and musical development from the early works written in Bonn to the Ninth Symphony and the late quartets, looking at compositions from different and original perspectives that show Beethoven's art as a union of sensuous and rational, of expression and structure. In analyses of individual pieces, Kinderman shows that the deepening of Beethoven's musical thought was a continuous process over decades of his life. In this new updated edition, Kinderman gives more attention to the composer's early chamber music, his songs, his opera Fidelio, and to a number of often-neglected works of the composer's later years and fascinating projects left incomplete. A revised view emerges from this of Beethoven's aesthetics and the musical meaning of his works. Rather than the conventional image of a heroic and tormented figure, Kinderman provides a more complex, more fully rounded account of the composer. Although Beethoven's deafness and his other personal crises are addressed, together with this ever-increasing commitment to his art, so too are the lighter aspects of his personality: his humor, his love of puns, his great delight in juxtaposing the exalted and the more

Product details

  • Paperback | 432 pages
  • 154 x 230 x 28mm | 639.56g
  • Oxford University Press Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Revised
  • 2nd Revised edition
  • 25 halftones, 5 line illustrations; 115 music examples
  • 0195328361
  • 9780195328363
  • 1,309,581

Review quote

...excellent life and works...outstanding, superbly produced ... * Philip Borg-Wheeler, Classical Music *show more

About William Kinderman

William Kinderman is Professor of Musicology at the University of Illinois - Champaign-Urbana. His books include Beethoven's "Diabelli" Variations (OUP, 1987), ed., Beethoven's Compositional Process (Nebraska, 1991), Beethoven (OUP and California, 1995), ed., The Second Practice of Nineteenth-Century Tonality (Nebraska, 1996), Artaria 195: Beethoven's Sketchbook for the 'Missa solemnis' and the Piano Sonata in E Major, Opus 109 (Chicago, 3 vols., 2003), ed. (with Katherine Syer), A Companion to Wagner's "Parsifal" (Camden House, 2005), ed., The String Quartets of Beethoven (Illinois, 2006), and Mozart's Piano Music (OUP, 2006). He is also an accomplished pianist whose recordings have been met with global more

Table of contents

Preface and Acknowledgments ; List of Plates ; List of music Examples and Figures ; Overture ; 1. The Bonn Years ; 2. The Path to Mastery, 1792-1798 ; 3. Crises and Creativity, 1799-1802 ; 4. The Heroic Style I, 1803-1806 ; 5. The Heroic Style II, 1806-1809 ; 6. Consolidation, 1810-1812 ; 7. The Congress of Vienna Period, 1813-1815 ; 8. The Hammerklavier Sonata, 1816-1818 ; 9. Struggle, 1819-1822 ; 10. Triumph, 1822-1824 ; 11. The 'Galitzin' Quartets, 1824-1825 ; 12. The Last Phase, 1826-1827 ; Selected Bibliography ; Bibliography of Works Cited ; Index of Beethoven's Compositions ; General Indexshow more

Rating details

15 ratings
3.46 out of 5 stars
5 20% (3)
4 40% (6)
3 13% (2)
2 20% (3)
1 7% (1)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X