The Beautiful and the Cursed
20%
off

The Beautiful and the Cursed

3.79 (4,005 ratings on Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series and Lauren Kate's Fallen novels will devour "The Beautiful and the Cursed," a wholly original interpretation of gargoyle lore. After a bizarre accident, Ingrid Waverly is forced to leave London with her mother and her younger sister, Gabby, trading a world full of fancy dresses and society events for the unfamiliar city of Paris. In Paris there are no grand balls or glittering parties for Ingrid, and, disturbingly, the house her twin brother, Grayson, was sent ahead to secure for the family isn't a house at all. It's an abandoned abbey, its roof lined with stone gargoyles that could almost be mistaken for living, breathing creatures. And Grayson is missing. Yet no one seems worried about his whereabouts save for Luc, a devastatingly handsome servant at their new home. Ingrid is sure her twin isn't dead--she can feel it deep in her soul--but she knows he's in grave danger, and that it's up to her and Gabby to find him before all hope is lost. The path to Grayson will be twisted, leading Ingrid to discover dark secrets and otherworldly truths that, once uncovered, can never again be buried. Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy: A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance. "The Bulletin" Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout. "Booklist " Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound. "Kirkus Reviews" Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action dark adventure and romance. "School Library Journal " Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment. "Publishers Weekly""show more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 343 pages
  • 149.86 x 210.82 x 33.02mm | 476.27g
  • Delacorte Press
  • United States
  • English
  • 0385743114
  • 9780385743112
  • 481,116

Review quote

Praise for the Dispossessed Trilogy: "A deliciously satisfying mix of historical fiction, mystery, and supernatural romance."--"The Bulletin" "Morgan combines fantasy with gothic romance in this well-crafted standout."--"Booklist " "Forbidden romance and hot kissing abound."--"Kirkus Reviews" "Morgan keeps the plot moving with constant action...dark adventure and romance."--"School Library Journal " "Morgan's fluid descriptions, inventive otherworldly elements, and characters with convincing motivations result in an immersive first installment."--"Publisher's Weekly"show more

About Page Morgan

Page Morgan has been fascinated with "les grotesques" ever since she came across an old black-and-white photograph of a Notre Dame gargoyle keeping watch over the city of Paris. The gargoyle mythologies she went on to research fed her imagination, and she became inspired to piece together her own story and mythology for these remarkably complex stone figures. Page lives in New Hampshire with her husband and their three children. Visit her at pagemorganbooks.com and look for the sequel, The Lovely and the Lost, available from Delacorte Press in 2014."show more

Our customer reviews

The Beautiful and the Cursed is an incredible gothic story with features I enjoy having in a book, yet Page Morgan includes enough fresh content to completely captivate me while reading. The first book in The Dispossessed series is a little bit historical fiction with some paranormal elements - but most of all, it's delightfully mysterious! Reasons to Read: 1. A paranormal story featuring gargoyles: I've read all sorts of paranormal books (from vampires, to faeries, to werewolves, et al) but I've yet to read a story about gargoyles. I'm also less familiar with gargoyle mythology, so this was completely new and exciting to me as a reader. It's very cool to read about, and it really set this book apart from others for me. Gargoyles are seriously underrated! 2. Unexpected characters: I honestly thought that I had Ingrid and her sister Gabby all figured out at the beginning of the story, along with the main male characters. So imagine my surprise when these characters (particularly the two sisters) ended up being completely unpredictable. There's much more to them than meets the eye, and I think they are going to continue to grow and develop in latter books and I can't wait to see what incredible fighters they become by the end. 3. A creepy, macabre storyline: I like my books to be a little dark, because I find them more engaging that way. The Beautiful and the Cursed definitely did not disappoint in this way! There's so much going on with the mysterious murders, and I was racing along with Ingrid and Gabby to uncover what was happening in Paris. I'll admit that I'm not (yet) sold on much of the romance, because it all felt rather sudden and artificial in some ways. It just felt like there was too much, way too soon. But at the same time, I still felt drawn into it and I'm looking forward to the next book in this series to find out more of what happens and how the characters grow. Review copy received from Random House Canada for review; no other compensation was received.show more
by Brenna Staats
I was so excited to be chosen to be an Ambuzzador for this book. I mean, gargoyles! I love gargoyles. I even have a tiny one that lives on one of my bookcases. (His name is Balthazar.) The only problem I have was the setting. I'm just not that enamored with Paris like a lot of people are. (Though that doesn't seem to stop me from buying novels set there.) I'm more of a London person. That being said, I did have some trouble with that at the beginning. There was so much French. You can really tell that the author did her research, which is a plus, but I had no idea how to pronounce the street names, or what they were saying in French. I took German in high school which is about as close to English as you can get. I did feel a strong connection to Ingrid in that aspect, with she not being that fluent in French. I didn't feel like an idiot. The beginning of the novel was a bit slow as well. It took a little bit for things to get set up and it just didn't grab me. We're getting about four different storylines from four different points of view, which I normally love, but it seemed to take a while to set in here. Oh, and one last negative thing I want to say. When Ingrid sees a gargoyle for the first time, she has to point out that she notices that they have "no reproductive organs." Is that really necessary? I would hope a flying stone beast wouldn't not really need to have any business going on down there. Anyway, once I got about a third of the way through, it really started to pick up. I mean, it got really good. I could not put it down! It had me guessing what exactly was going on and when I thought I was right, it would go in a completely different direction. One aspect I really liked was that it didn't really shy away from violence and gore. Don't be deceived by the nice title and the gorgeous cover--the original title was Grotesque. I think it's a more fitting title. I think my mom was a bit shocked when I finished giving her a synopsis of the novel the other night. She had just finished telling me about the show Zero Hour and pretty much stated that my telling her about the book made her Nazi story sound like a walk in the park. There are monsters, demons, and dismemberment. I loved it. Overall, the story was very compelling. The characters were all very well developed and the entire novel was very well written. The main characters were likable, the demons were down right nasty, and there are still secrets we have yet to unveil. I am very much looking forward to reading the sequel.show more
by Caroline Foxwell
Book ratings on Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X