Beautiful Broken Girls
23%
off

Beautiful Broken Girls

2.76 (724 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

After two teenage sisters, Mira and Francesca, drown themselves in a neighbourhood quarry, their next-door neighbour Ben receives post-mortem letters from Mira. This letter challenges Ben to track down the hidden, cryptic notes hidden in seven places alluding to where the two secretly touched. As Ben uncovers each note, he starts to unravel the hidden lies and secrets that these girls kept, and just how complicated their bonds with the outside world were.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 352 pages
  • 139 x 209 x 23mm | 300g
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • Reprint
  • 1250144167
  • 9781250144164
  • 905,837

Review quote

Praise for Beautiful Broken Girls

"After two sisters commit suicide, the boy next door traces the notes one left behind for him. . . . Told through both Ben's and the girls' perspectives, the mystery unfolds with aching precision--both Ben's grief and the sisters' pain can be acutely traced as they grow. Even though the truth can be seen before it's revealed, the girls' secrets pack a gut punch that lingers. Haunting and mesmerizing." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

"Savage's second novel is more character-driven than plot-driven. These figures are compellingly damaged, and the suspense is ever present. Savage's skillful writing makes the characters' pain deep and tangible, offering readers the full impact of the deaths on the town." --Booklist

"Familial ties, friendship, and community trust are all intriguing themes, but the book's central story line is its strength as Ben moves through the stages of disbelief and grief. Teen readers will find sympathy for each character introduced and be moved by the profound sadness of the sisters' short lives. . . . A haunting tale that reads like a young adult version of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides." --School Library Journal

"This disturbing and emotional ride will appeal to readers of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why and Beth Revis' A World Without You, as the mental health, romantic obsession and codependency of two sisters are explored within this compelling drama." --Romantic Times Book Review
show more

About Kim Savage

Kim Savage is the author of the critically acclaimed After the Woods. She was born in Quincy, Massachusetts and received her master's degree in Journalism from Northeastern University. She lives with her husband and three children north of Boston.
show more

Rating details

724 ratings
2.76 out of 5 stars
5 9% (64)
4 16% (113)
3 33% (242)
2 27% (198)
1 15% (107)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X