Be As You Are

Be As You Are : The Teachings of Sri Ramana Maharshi

4.51 (908 ratings by Goodreads)
Compiled by  , By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?


'Our own Self-realization is the greatest service we can render the world'The simple but powerful teachings of Sri Ramana Maharshi, one of India's most revered spiritual masters, continue to enlighten and enrich over sixty years after his death. Be As You Are is the definitive compendium of his knowledge, edited by the former librarian from Sri Maharshi's ashram, which can be found flourishing at the foot of the holy mountain of Arunchala. The book collects conversations with the many seekers who came to him for guidance, answering the questions sought on the road to enlightenment. Through this book, we can discover the essence of Sri Ramana's teaching: that self-realisation is the vital quest we must all pursue, before we can attempt to understand the world.Reissue of the classic spiritual work, updated with a new more

Product details

  • Paperback | 272 pages
  • 128 x 194 x 18mm | 199.58g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • Reissue
  • 0140190627
  • 9780140190625
  • 48,868

About Sri Ramana Maharshi

Ramana Maharshi was one of the most significant spiritual teachers to emerge from India during the first half of this century, and remains widely admired. This collection of conversations between him and the many seekers who came to his ashram for guidance contains the essence of his more

Table of contents

The Teachings of Sriramana MaharshiAcknowledgments Introduction Part One: The Self 1. The nature of the Self 2. Self-awareness and Self-ignorance 3. The jnani Part Two: Enquiry and Surrender 4. Self-enquiry—theory 5. Self-enquiry—practice 6. Self-enquiry—misconceptions 7. Surrender Part Three: The Guru 8. The Guru 9. Silence and sat-sanga Part Four: Meditation and Yoga 10. Meditation and concentration 11. Mantras and japa 12. Life in the world 13. Yoga Part Five: Experience 14. Samadhi 15. Visions and psychic powers 16. Problems and experiences Part Six: Theory 17. Creation theories and the reality of the world 18. Reincarnation 19. The nature of God 20. Suffering and morality 21. Karma, destiny and free will Glossary Notes and references Bibliography Indexshow more

Rating details

908 ratings
4.51 out of 5 stars
5 67% (607)
4 22% (203)
3 7% (67)
2 2% (19)
1 1% (12)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X