A Battle Won

A Battle Won : Charles Hayden Book 2

4.14 (928 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?


'Fire as she bears. Rake her, lads.'Winter, 1793. Newly promoted Master and Commander Charles Hayden's orders are to deliver the frigate HMS Themis to Lord Admiral Hood, whose fleet is sheltering in the Mediterranean. Only hours out of port, however, and the Themis is engaging with the French navy. Hayden's destination is Toulon, a French port under Lord Hood's protection. But there Hayden's captaincy and seamanship are stretched to their limits. For Toulon holds a deadly surprise for the unwary . . .A Battle Won is the brilliant second instalment in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece in the tradition of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 576 pages
  • 130 x 194 x 40mm | 340.19g
  • Penguin Books Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • maps and line drawings
  • 0141033150
  • 9780141033150
  • 92,872

About Sean Thomas Russell

Sean Thomas Russell is a lifelong sailor whose passion for the sea - and his love of nautical history - inspired the adventures of Charles Hayden. His latest book follows bestsellers A Battle Won, Under Enemy Colours and A Ship of War. Until the Sea Shall Give Her Up Dead is his latest novel. Sean lives on Vancouver Island.
show more

Rating details

928 ratings
4.14 out of 5 stars
5 35% (329)
4 47% (436)
3 14% (132)
2 3% (27)
1 0% (4)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X