Bartok's Viola Concerto

Bartok's Viola Concerto : The Remarkable Story of His Swansong

5 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 3 business days
When will my order arrive?


Tells the intriguing story of Bela Bartok's Viola Concerto, a work left unfinished at his death in 1945. Drawing on interviews and documents that reveal previously unavailable information, it discusses the commission, the reconstruction by Tibor Serly, events leading up to the premiere, its reception over the second half of the twentieth century, the revisions, and future more

Product details

  • Hardback | 234 pages
  • 157.5 x 236.2 x 22.9mm | 521.64g
  • Oxford University Press Inc
  • New York, United States
  • English
  • New.
  • numerous halftones & music examples
  • 0195156900
  • 9780195156904
  • 930,749

Review quote

Maurice not only presents us with a very clearly documented account of this important work, but evokes warm, human glimpses of all the protagonists ... This fascinating book will stir violists from their habitual mindset and encourage them to look at this canon of their repertoire with new eyes. * Mary Nemet, Stringendo *show more

About Donald G. Maurice

Donald Maurice wrote one of the major revisions of the Bartok viola concerto. He is Professor of Music at the New Zealand School of Music, violist with the New Zealand Piano Quartet, and treasurer of the International Viola more

Rating details

1 ratings
5 out of 5 stars
5 100% (1)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 0% (0)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X