The Barrow

The Barrow

3.43 (1,333 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$18.00

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Action, horror, politics, and sensuality combine in this DEBUT EPIC FANTASY novel for fans of George R. R. Martin and Michael J. Sullivan, set in the world of the Eisner Award-nominated Artesia comic books. To find the Sword, unearth the Barrow. To unearth the Barrow, follow the Map. When a small crew of scoundrels, would-be heroes, deviants, and ruffians discover a map that they believe will lead them to a fabled sword buried in the barrow of a long-dead wizard, they think they've struck it rich. But their hopes are dashed when the map turns out to be cursed and then is destroyed in a magical ritual. The loss of the map leaves them dreaming of what might have been, until they rediscover the map in a most unusual and unexpected place. Stjepan Black-Heart, suspected murderer and renegade royal cartographer; Erim, a young woman masquerading as a man; Gilgwyr, brothel owner extraordinaire; Leigh, an exiled magus under an ignominious cloud; Godewyn Red-Hand, mercenary and troublemaker; Arduin Orwain, scion of a noble family brought low by scandal; and Arduin's sister Annwyn, the beautiful cause of that scandal: together they form a cross section of the Middle Kingdoms of the Known World, united by accident and dark design, on a quest that will either get them all in the history books...or get them all killed.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 607 pages
  • 152 x 229 x 41.15mm | 616.89g
  • Pyr
  • United States
  • English
  • maps
  • 1616148918
  • 9781616148911
  • 488,239

Review quote

"Genuinely inspired, shockingly erotic, and completely fantastic, The Barrow is an immersive read that grabs you in its own strange gravity and leaves you craving more.... It is bloody beautiful."
--John R. Fultz, author of Seven Sorcerers and the Books of the Shaper trilogy

"A gritty fantasy adventure set in a vivid and complex world. Fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch will love The Barrow."
--Mike Lee, author of Fallen Angels and The Rise of Nagash

"'Epic' doesn't even begin to describe the nuances and complexities of the plots and alliances in this fresh take on highly recommended heroic fantasy."
--Jeff VanderMeer, World Fantasy Award-winning author of Annihilation

"I love Mark Smylie's world. Fans of deep, intricate settings with complex cultures and fascinating histories are in for a treat with The Barrow. Anyone who likes Steven Erikson should check this out."
--Django Wexler, author of The Thousand Names
show more

About Mark Smylie

Mark Smylie is the author of The Barrow. In addition, he has worked in the publishing and entertainment industries for almost two decades as an artist, an illustrator, a writer, a game designer, an editor, and a publisher. In 2003, he founded a comics and graphic-novel publishing company, Archaia. He spent twelve years there, initially as publisher and then as chief creative officer, before departing to return to his own creative endeavors.
show more

Rating details

1,333 ratings
3.43 out of 5 stars
5 21% (278)
4 31% (411)
3 28% (375)
2 11% (148)
1 9% (121)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X