A Barrow in the Broadway

A Barrow in the Broadway : An Orphan Finds Freedom and Love in Wartime London

4.33 (140 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$6.04

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Orphaned by the war, a young woman struggles with an impossible love...A Barrow in the Broadway by Pam Evans brings wartime London to life, in this heart-breaking saga of love, family and finding your own two feet. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Cathy Sharp. 'There's a special kind of warmth that shines through the characters in Evans' novels' - Lancashire Evening Post From playing in the backyard to being taken in by Queenie when her own mother was killed in an air raid, Rosie Goodson has been part of the Gordillo family for as long as she can remember. She watched their business grow from a fruit and vegetable street barrow to a chain of supermarkets - and as soon as she was old enough, she went to work in the head office. But passion, bitterness and her unhappy marriage to the selfish Mickey Gordillo alienate her from them; for in her heart Rosie carries an undying love for a man she can never marry...What Amazon readers are saying about A Barrow in Broadway: 'A very heart-warming story. I thoroughly recommend it' 'Five stars'show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 384 pages
  • 112 x 170 x 32mm | 222.26g
  • Headline Publishing Group
  • Headline Book Publishing
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0747232148
  • 9780747232148

About Pamela Evans

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.show more

Rating details

140 ratings
4.33 out of 5 stars
5 59% (83)
4 25% (35)
3 8% (11)
2 6% (8)
1 2% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X