And the Band Begins to Play. the Definitive Guide to the Songs of the Beatles

And the Band Begins to Play. the Definitive Guide to the Songs of the Beatles

2 (1 rating by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 10-15 business days.

Not ordering to the United States? Click here.


* This is an updated edition, published in 2019 *

In the space of just seven years, the Beatles released twelve landmark albums and 22 groundbreaking singles - a total of 208 songs that would influence artists and musicians for decades to come. And the Band Begins to Play is the definitive guide to the complete catalogue of songs recorded and released by the Beatles between their first EMI session in 1962 and their break-up in 1970. Each track is fully analysed, giving the story behind the composition, a brief musical analysis, and a description of the recording process, studio techniques used, peculiarities of the released track including mono/stereo anomalies or notable overdubs, and other interesting aspects of the song or its recording. Unquestionably, the Beatles remain the key band of the rock era. And the Band Begins to Play tells the story of their unique musical legacy.
show more

Product details

  • Hardback | 612 pages
  • 216 x 280 x 33mm | 1,687g
  • English
  • Illustrations, black and white
  • 9491868012
  • 9789491868016
  • 2,705,884

Review quote

"This important book can claim a place at the top table of Beatles reference works" - Pete Nash, British Beatles Fan Club "Will stand the test of time" - "Brilliant" - Luca Perasi, author of Paul McCartney: Recording Sessions
show more

Rating details

1 rating
2 out of 5 stars
5 0% (0)
4 0% (0)
3 0% (0)
2 100% (1)
1 0% (0)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X