Baker Towers

Baker Towers

3.72 (4,209 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

List price: US$12.64

Currently unavailable

We can notify you when this item is back in stock

Add to wishlist

AbeBooks may have this title (opens in new window).

Try AbeBooks

Description

Jennifer Haigh's second novel is an intimate portrait of love and family, which will appeal to fans of Anne Tyler and Carol Shields.


Stanley Novak is a first-generation Polish immigrant. Seeking a better life, he settles in Bakerton and finds work in the booming local mine. He meets and marries Rose, a shy, beautiful Italian girl. They move to a mine-owned house in an area of town known as Polish Hill, teeming with immigrants from all over Europe, all chasing the American Dream. Five children follow for the Novaks.


The Novak children belong to what will someday be known as the Greatest Generation, but for now, they are just trying to find their identities in a vastly changing world. The five children could not be more different. The eldest, George, avoids signing up but is drafted to the Pacific when America joins the war. He comes home determined to leave Bakerton behind, but finds it much more difficult the second time around. Dorothy is a fragile and naive girl, who finds it hard to cope with her desk job in Washington. Joyce, fiercely intelligent, must hold the family together and remains bitterly aware of the life that she could have had. Sandy, the youngest boy, swans through life with his movie-star looks, never taking responsibility for his actions. And Lucy, the youngest, must find her own path in the shadow of her formidable siblings.


Haigh gives us a beautiful snapshot of a small town - of company houses and union squabbles; the boom and bust of the post-war years; the immigrant neighbourhoods of Swedetown, Little Italy and Polish Hill; the miners, undertakers, soldiers, firemen and housewives who populate the town and bring it to life.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 400 pages
  • 129 x 198 x 21mm | 245g
  • HarperCollins Publishers Ltd
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 0007150873
  • 9780007150878
  • 1,001,857

Review quote

Praise for Jennifer Haigh and her first novel, Mrs Kimble:


`An elegant, elegiac multigenerational saga...Almost mythic in its ambition, somewhere between Oates and Updike country.' Kirkus Review


'A truly impressive first novel...a mere summary cannot do justice to this engaging story. Haigh is an astute observer of human nature and every one of her many characters is well-drawn. In her writing and storytelling style, there are echoes of Anne Tyler, one of the greatest exponents of the contemporary American novel. Mrs Kimble is a remarkably assured and imaginative debut.' Irish Examiner


'A chilling and beautifully written first novel.' Good Housekeeping


'A clever, admirable novel. The three Mrs Kimbles present the whole gamut of family values gone awry.' Washington Post


`Beautiful, devastating and complex.' Chicago Tribune
show more

About Jennifer Haigh

Jennifer Haigh is the author of the critically acclaimed Mrs Kimble, for which she won the Pen/Hemingway Award. She grew up in a small town in Pennsylvania and now lives in Hull, Massachusetts.
show more

Rating details

4,209 ratings
3.72 out of 5 stars
5 18% (753)
4 44% (1,850)
3 31% (1,317)
2 6% (253)
1 1% (36)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X