Bad Blood
30%
off

Bad Blood

3.2 (68 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 1 business day
When will my order arrive?

Description

-Dark and complex and wickedly romantic.---GRETCHEN MCNEIL, author of Ten and I'm Not Your Manic Pixie Dream Girl -A story that will both warm your heart, and chill you to the bone.---KENDARE BLAKE, author of Three Dark Crowns A girl discovers a family secret and a past full of magic that could both save her and put her in mortal danger in this suspenseful novel that's perfect for fans of Katie Alender and Natasha Preston. All sixteen-year-old Heather MacNair wants is to feel normal, to shed the intense paranoia she's worn all year like a scratchy sweater. After her compulsion to self-harm came to light, Heather was kept under her doctor's watchful eye. Her family thinks she's better--and there's nothing she wants more than for that to be true. She still can't believe she's allowed to spend her summer vacation as she always does: at her aunt's home in Scotland, where she has lots of happy memories. Far away from all her problems save one: she can't stop carving the Celtic knot that haunts her dreams into her skin. Good friends and boys with Scottish accents can cure almost anything . . . except nightmares. Heather can't stop dreaming about two sisters from centuries ago, twins Prudence and Primrose, who somehow seem tied to her own life. Their presence lurks just beneath the surface of her consciousness, sending ripples through what should be a peaceful summer. The twins might hold the key to putting Heather's soul at rest . . . or they could slice her future deeper than any knife. *** -An eerie blend of mystery and magic amid the Scottish highlands.---MINDY MCGINNIS, author of A Madness So Discreet and The Female of the Species -A haunting and mysterious page turner.---KATE KARYUS QUINN, author of Another Little Piece -A thoroughly enjoyable contemporary Gothic.---Kirkus -A perfect choice for fans of chilling supernatural reads.---Booklistshow more

Product details

  • 12-17
  • Hardback | 272 pages
  • 140 x 210 x 28mm | 431g
  • Delacorte Press
  • United States
  • English
  • 1101938056
  • 9781101938058
  • 1,185,154

Review quote

-Fascinating and dreadful, BAD BLOOD is a haunting family saga of betrayed witches as well as one girl's struggle to come to terms with herself. With charm and skill to spare, Demitria Lunetta has crafted a story that will both warm your heart, and chill you to the bone.---KENDARE BLAKE, author of Three Dark Crowns -An intriguing introduction set in Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1629, leaps to modern-day teen Heather, who has issues with cutting stemming from visions of Scotland's past, namely two sisters, Primrose and Prudence, who are hell-bent on destruction. . . . Lunetta's latest has the perfect balance of mystery, magic, and realism with a sprinkle of Scottish history adding to the overall attraction. A perfect choice for fans of chilling supernatural reads.---Booklist -A chilling gothic thriller, with threads of horror woven throughout. . . . fans of Katie Alender's Bad Girls Don't Die series will appreciate this work and its spine-chilling twists.---SLJ -The setting charms, and the mystery unravels at a good clip. A thoroughly enjoyable contemporary Gothic.---Kirkus Reviews * -A bang-up, twisty sci-fi adventure/thriller.- --Kirkus on IN THE AFTER -Gripping and suspenseful.- --SLJ on IN THE AFTER -The lightning-swift pace and strong female characters create a satisfying page-turner.- --Booklist on IN THE ENDshow more

About Demitria Lunetta

DEMITRIA LUNETTA is the author of the sci-fi duology In the After and In the End. While attending university in Scotland, she developed a love of Scottish history and folklore, especially the dark tales of Edinburgh's past. Those frightening things (ghosts, witches, and haggis) helped inspire this book. She lives in Chicago. demitrialunetta.blogspot.com @demitrialunetta on Twittershow more

Rating details

68 ratings
3.2 out of 5 stars
5 18% (12)
4 25% (17)
3 25% (17)
2 25% (17)
1 7% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X