Bachelor Girl
16%
off

Bachelor Girl : A Novel by the Author of Orphan #8

3.78 (206 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Dispatched from the UK in 2 business days
When will my order arrive?

Description

NOW AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER "Bachelor Girl plunges the reader deep into life during the Jazz Age...and the revealing of other secrets and confessions will keep readers up all night looking for answers." --Booklist, starred review From the New York Times bestselling author of Orphan #8 comes a fresh and intimate novel in the vein of Lilac Girls and The Alice Network about the destructive power of secrets and the redemptive power of love--inspired by the true story of Jacob Ruppert, the millionaire owner of the New York Yankees, and his mysterious bequest in 1939 to an unknown actress, Helen Winthrope Weyant. When the owner of the New York Yankees baseball team, Colonel Jacob Ruppert, takes Helen Winthrope, a young actress, under his wing, she thinks it's because of his guilt over her father's accidental death--and so does Albert Kramer, Ruppert's handsome personal secretary. Helen and Albert develop a deepening bond the closer they become to Ruppert, an eccentric millionaire who demands their loyalty in return for his lavish generosity. New York in the Jazz Age is filled with possibilities, especially for the young and single. Yet even as Helen embraces being a "bachelor girl"--a working woman living on her own terms--she finds herself falling in love with Albert, even after he confesses his darkest secret. When Ruppert dies, rumors swirl about his connection to Helen after the stunning revelation that he has left her the bulk of his fortune, which includes Yankee Stadium. But it is only when Ruppert's own secrets are finally revealed that Helen and Albert will be forced to confront the truth about their relationship to him--and to each other. Inspired by factual events that gripped New York City in its heyday, Bachelor Girl is a hidden history gem about family, identity, and love in all its shapes and colors.
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 416 pages
  • 135 x 201 x 23mm | 318g
  • English
  • 1501173340
  • 9781501173349

Review Text

From the first paragraphs, BACHELOR GIRL plunges the reader deep into life during the Jazz Age... [T]he mystery of Ruppert's largesse and the slow revealing of other secrets and confessions will keep readers up all night looking for answers alongside Winthrope and Kramer. Booklist, starred review
show more

Review quote

An utterly compelling novel about love's many dimensions--its curiosities, letdowns and limitations; and its uplift, endurance and vigor. In a sweeping look back to New York City in the Roaring Twenties, BACHELOR GIRL takes a forward stance against everything that stands in love's way." --Silas Dent Zobal
show more

Rating details

206 ratings
3.78 out of 5 stars
5 24% (50)
4 42% (86)
3 24% (49)
2 9% (18)
1 1% (3)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X