A Baby's Bones

A Baby's Bones

3.94 (519 ratings by Goodreads)
By (author) 

Free delivery worldwide

Available. Expected delivery to the United States in 6-11 business days.


Not ordering to the United States? Click here.

Description

Archaeologist Sage Westfield has been called in to excavate a sixteenth-century well, and expects to find little more than soil and the odd piece of pottery. But the disturbing discovery of the bones of a woman and newborn baby make it clear that she has stumbled onto an historical crime scene, one that is interwoven with an unsettling local legend of witchcraft and unrequited love. Yet there is more to the case than a four-hundred-year-old mystery. The owners of a nearby cottage are convinced that it is haunted, and the local vicar is being plagued with abusive phone calls. Then a tragic death makes it all too clear that a modern murderer is at work...
show more

Product details

  • Paperback | 464 pages
  • 129.54 x 200.66 x 38.1mm | 367g
  • London, United Kingdom
  • English
  • 178565621X
  • 9781785656217
  • 1,428,120

Review quote

"Alexander fuses the secrets of Renaissance-era alchemy and the knowledge wielded by modern archeology....keeps the stakes high throughout." - Publishers Weekly

"Readers who favor historical mysteries as well as those who enjoy modern forensic science will enjoy this one. Fans of Elly Griffiths' Ruth Galloway series will definitely want to meet Sage, as will those who have followed Erin Hart's Haunted Ground, also featuring a forensic archaeologist." - Booklist

"In a departure from her supernatural crime novels (The Secrets of Time and Fate), Alexander carefully constructs an intricately plotted mystery that links story lines of madness and murder. Bittersweet and haunting, this suspenseful story is driven by complex, flawed characters. Fans of Kate Ellis's "Wesley" mysteries and Elly Griffith's atmospheric "Ruth Galloway" novels will enjoy the combination of archaeology and history." - Library Journal Starred Review

"The mystery deepens at a nice pace, keeping me reading to find out more and trying to guess who was behind it all...one of my favorite reads of the year" Criminal Element

"a well-paced, engrossing mystery with sympathetic characters and two timelines that really compliment each other...I was thrilled to see that this is the first book in a new series because I wasn't ready to leave Sage and the other characters that Alexander has created." Kittling Books

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." The Crime Review

"An engrossing read that perfectly blends the historical and contemporary for a brilliant story." SciFi Movie Page review

"will appeal to readers of Barbara Mertz, Dana Cameron, and Lyn Hamilton. Alexander has a particularly deft way with description" - Buried Under Books
show more

About Rebecca Alexander

Rebecca Alexander is a psychologist and writer. She is the author of the Jackdaw Hammond series of supernatural crime novels published by Del Rey, The Secrets of Life and Death (2013), The Secrets of Blood and Bone (2014) and The Secrets of Time and Fate (2016). She lives in Devon.
show more

Rating details

519 ratings
3.94 out of 5 stars
5 26% (137)
4 47% (242)
3 23% (117)
2 3% (18)
1 1% (5)
Book ratings by Goodreads
Goodreads is the world's largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. We're featuring millions of their reader ratings on our book pages to help you find your new favourite book. Close X